René Goscinny - Obelix and Co - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780752866529
    • Publication date:01 Dec 2005
Books in this series

Obelix and Co

Album 23

By René Goscinny
Illustrated by Albert Uderzo

  • Hardback
  • £10.99

The 23rd album chronicling the adventures of Asterix and friends.

Julius Caesar sends Caius Preposterus, a bright young graduate of the Latin school of Economics, to corrupt the indomitable Gauls by introducing them to big business. Obelix's menhir trade is soon thriving, backed by a heavy advertising campaign - but does wealth bring happiness? And what will happen when the bottom falls out of the menhir market?

Biographical Notes

Rene Goscinny was born in Paris in 1926, and spent most of his childhood in Argentina, before eventually moving to Paris in 1951. He died in 1977. Albert Uderzo was born in 1927 in a small village in Marne, France. He met Rene Goscinny in 1951 and on 29 October 1959 their most famous creation, Asterix, made his first appearance on page 20 of Pilote. ASTERIX THE GAUL, their first album, was published in 1961 and there have now been 35 Asterix albums.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780752866512
  • Publication date: 17 Feb 2005
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Orion Children's Books

The Cloak of Feathers

Nigel Quinlan
Authors:
Nigel Quinlan

Every hundred years, in the magical town of Knowmealldown, fairies known as the Good Folk join the villagers for a Great Festival. It's a raucous, beautiful, enchanted celebration.Well, it's supposed to be.Except every time Brian helps to organise the Great Festival it's a disappointment. Worse, this time the Folk Princess has been stolen. Can Brian thwart the Princess's evil captor in time to avoid the wrath of the Folk King and Queen, and finally deliver a Festival to remember?A magical adventure filled with myth, mischief and misunderstandings, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones and those who love modern fairy tales with a comic twist.

Wren & Rook

Women in Sport

Rachel Ignotofsky
Authors:
Rachel Ignotofsky
Hodder Children's Books

All Change!

Ian Whybrow, David Melling
Contributors:
Ian Whybrow, David Melling
Hodder Children's Books

Five Are Together Again

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

Five Go Adventuring Again

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Meet Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timothy. Together they are THE FAMOUS FIVE - Enid Blyton's most popular adventure series. All 21 titles also available as audiobooks!In their second adventure, the Famous Five find a thief at Kirrin Cottage. They think they know who it is, but need to prove it. Will the discovery of a very old map help uncover the true culprit?Fantastic new cover art by Laura Ellen Anderson will draw young readers into this accessible timeless classic.

Hodder Children's Books

Five Run Away Together

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Meet Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timothy. Together they are THE FAMOUS FIVE - Enid Blyton's most popular adventure series. All 21 titles also available as audiobooks!In their third adventure, the Famous Five discover that someone has been on George's island. And what is locked in the mysterious trunk hidden on Kirrin Island?The Famous Five think they're on the trail of smugglers - until they hear a child scream...Fantastic new cover art by Laura Ellen Anderson will draw young readers into this accessible timeless classic.

Hodder Children's Books

Five Go Off In A Caravan

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 8

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

In this special collectors' edition, books 22 to 24 are brought together in one fabulous volume.In ASTERIX AND THE GREAT CROSSING, a storm blows Asterix and Obelix off course. Luckily they land on the shores of a Roman colony - or is it? Teepees, totems, gobbling birds: it's not what they're used to. Julius Caesar sends Caius Preposterus, graduate of the Latin School of Economics, to corrupt the indomitable Gauls in OBELIX AND CO. Obelix's menhir trade is soon thriving - but does wealth bring happiness?In ASTERIX IN BELGIUM, the Gauls compete with the Belgian tribes to determine who is the bravest. But if the two groups unite, will Caesar meet his Waterloo?There is no better way to enjoy the antics of our indomitable hero and his friends.

Hodder Children's Books

The Spring On The Mountain

Judy Allen
Authors:
Judy Allen
Orchard Books

Eternal Detention

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson
Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 6

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 5

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

This special collectors' edition features books thirteen to fifteen in one fabulous volume.In ASTERIX AND THE CAULDRON, Asterix is guarding a cauldron of money when the cash disappears! He and Obelix try gladiatorial contests, theatrical performances, even bank robbery to regain the money.Chief Huevos y Bacon's son is taken hostage in ASTERIX IN SPAIN. Asterix and Obelix go to his rescue, but taking him home means tangling with the tourist industry, flamenco, and a wild aurochs in the bullring!In ASTERIX AND THE ROMAN AGENT, Caesar sends Agent Tortuous Convolvulus to make the Gauls suspect each other of teachery! Can Asterix and friends outwit the wily Convolvulus?There is no better way to enjoy the antics of our indomitable hero and his friends.

Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 7

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Hodder Children's Books

Caddy Ever After

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay
Hodder Children's Books

Forever Rose

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay

It's the Casson Family finale, and Permanent Rose takes centre stage. It's tough being the youngest - Rose is lonely. Her family are always busy doing their own things so Rose comes home to a dark, quiet, empty house every day. Saffy is off with Sarah, Indigo has his paper round and guitar lessons, Eve's in quarantine in the shed, Bill's not much use in London, and who knows where Caddy is since she disappeared with Michael's postcards! The only one around is David and Rose would rather be alone than be with him! At least Rose still has her friends at school: the brilliant Kiran and the nice but boring Molly. But school is no longer a peaceful place where Rose can daydream. Mean Mr Spencer is always shouting about SATs. And now he's cancelled Christmas! But one thing Mr Spencer cant cancel is the Christmas School Trip which means Rose can help Molly with her ONE BIG IDEA ... but what could that be? Will it be a very merry Christmas for Class 6 and the Casson family?

Hodder Children's Books

Caddy's World

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay

Go back in time ... Caddy is 12; grappling with school, best friends, first boyfriends, younger siblings and the unexpected arrival of one baby Permanent Rose who has appeared in the world a little sooner than expected. While baby Rose lies in critical condition in hospital, life goes on in the unpredictable, colourful Casson household.

Orion Children's Books

Where's Dogmatix?

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

A fabulous sequel to WHERE'S ASTERIX? featuring the loveable Dogmatix and his friends in a variety of fun, action-packed scenes.Younger readers and fans of WHERE'S WALLY? will be absorbed for hours as they search for Dogmatix amidst the hustle and bustle.

Hodder Children's Books

Five Go To Mystery Moor

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

Five On A Treasure Island

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Meet Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timothy. Together they are THE FAMOUS FIVE - Enid Blyton's most popular adventure series. All 21 titles also available as audiobooks!'There was something else out on the sea by the rocks - something dark that seemed to lurch out of the waves . . . What could it be?'Julian, Dick and Anne are spending the holidays with their tomboy cousin George and her dog, Timothy. One day, George takes them to explore nearby Kirrin Island, with its rocky little coast and old ruined castle on the top.Over on the island, they make a thrilling discovery, which leads them deep into the dungeons of Kirrin Castle on a dangerous adventure. Who - and what - will they find there?This edition contains the original cover art and inside drawings by Eileen Soper.

Hodder Children's Books

Five Go To Smuggler's Top

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Meet Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timothy. Together they are THE FAMOUS FIVE - Enid Blyton's most popular adventure series. All 21 titles also available as audiobooks!In book four, the Famous Five stay at the large old house at Smuggler's Top. They discover secret hiding places, underground tunnels, and one night they catch people signalling out to sea!Are there still smugglers at Smuggler's Top? This edition features the original cover art and inside illustrations by Eileen Soper.