René Goscinny - Asterix and Caesar's Gift - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £10.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780752866451
    • Publication date:16 Dec 2004
Books in this series

Asterix and Caesar's Gift

Album 21

By René Goscinny
Illustrated by Albert Uderzo

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The 21st album chronicling the adventures of Asterix and friends.

When Legionary Tremensdelirius gets the title deeds to the little Gaulish village as a bonus, he swaps them with tavern landlord Orthopaedix for a drink. Funnily enough, Asterix and his friends aren't keen to hand over their village to anyone else. After a chieftaincy election campaign and a showdown with the Romans, both events fiercely contested, can all still end well?

Biographical Notes

Rene Goscinny was born in Paris in 1926, and spent most of his childhood in Argentina, before eventually moving to Paris in 1951. He died in 1977. Albert Uderzo was born in 1927 in a small village in Marne, France. He met Rene Goscinny in 1951 and on 29 October 1959 their most famous creation, Asterix, made his first appearance on page 20 of Pilote. ASTERIX THE GAUL, their first album, was published in 1961 and there have now been 35 Asterix albums.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780752866468
  • Publication date: 17 Nov 2005
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

Toto the Ninja Cat and the Incredible Cheese Heist

Dermot O’Leary, Nick East
Contributors:
Dermot O’Leary, Nick East
Wren & Rook

This Book is not Rubbish: 50 Ways YOU Can Save the Planet!

Isabel Thomas
Authors:
Isabel Thomas

Discover how YOU can save the planet, and become an eco-warrior, not an eco-worrier, with 50 practical tips to really make a difference! From living on the veg to throwing the planet a party, ditching straws and banning glitter to snacking to save the world, there are so many things you can do to help the environment. Covering eco-issues from plastics and pollution to global warming and endangered animals, this is a one-stop guide to transform eco-worried kids into eco-activists. Funny, engaging, practical and timely, it's the ideal book to help readers navigate the world in the greenest possible way, and to really make a difference.

Orchard Books

Menox the Sabre-Toothed Terror

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!Tom and Elenna's pirate enemy, Ria, is back - and she has a deadly new plan to take over the kingdom of Makai. Join our heroes as they battle Ria's Beast Menox, a monster with a tooth like a sword!There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Menox the Sabre-toothed Terror; Larnak the Swarming Menace; Jurog, Hammer of the Jungle and Nersepha the Cursed Siren

Orchard Books

Larnak the Swarming Menace

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!The wicked pirate Ria has taken control of another terrifying Beast. Tom and Elenna must tackle Larnak the giant locust and stop Ria from getting to the magical Elixir Wells!There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Menox the Sabre-toothed Terror; Larnak the Swarming Menace; Jurog, Hammer of the Jungle and Nersepha the Cursed Siren

Orchard Books

Jurog, Hammer of the Jungle

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!Ria the pirate is using a terrifying monkey-Beast to destroy the forests of Makai. She wants the timber to build a fleet of new ships. Can Tom and Elenna stop Ria's latest wicked plan before she attacks Avantia?There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Menox the Sabre-toothed Terror; Larnak the Swarming Menace; Jurog, Hammer of the Jungle and Nersepha the Cursed Siren

Orchard Books

Nersepha the Cursed Siren

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Quercus Children's Books

The Lost Magician

Piers Torday
Authors:
Piers Torday
Orchard Books

Evelyn the Mermicorn Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Three stories in one! Join Rachel and Kirsty for a magical adventure with another fairy friend in this bestselling and much-loved series for girls aged 5 and up!Evelyn the Mermicorn Fairy has a very special magical pet. But when Jack Frost steals him away from her, the magic of the mermicorn is in danger! Can Kirsty and Rachel help get him back?Have you read any other Rainbow Magic books? Try Ruby the Red Fairy to find out how Kirsty and Rachel's adventures began.

Hodder Children's Books

The Golden Sands

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters

The seventh in a magical, exciting series by Olympic gold medallist Jessica Ennis-Hill. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Magic and My Little Pony!What if you had a magic bracelet that meant you could see golden magic everywhere?Evie's grandma has sent her another parcel. Inside layers of tissue and colourful ribbons is a beautiful bracelet! And when Evie and her friends find themselves on the most exciting beach holiday of their lives, they'll need all their magical know-how for their most dangerous challenge yet ... Evie shares Jessica's determination and drive - an inspiration for kids everywhere.

Orion Children's Books

Embassy of the Dead

Will Mabbitt
Authors:
Will Mabbitt

The first book in a spookily funny new series, where the living meets the dead and survival is a race against time. Perfect for fans of Skulduggery Pleasant and Who Let the Gods Out.Welcome to the Embassy of the Dead. Leave your life at the door. (Thanks.)When Jake opens a strange box containing a severed finger, he accidentally summons a grim reaper to drag him to the Eternal Void (yep, it's as fatal as it sounds) and now he's running for his life! But luckily Jake isn't alone - he can see and speak to ghosts.Jake and his deadly gang (well dead, at least) - Stiffkey the undertaker, hockey stick-wielding, Cora, and Zorro the ghost fox - have one mission: find the Embassy of the Dead and seek protection. But the Embassy has troubles of its own and may not be the safe haven Jake is hoping for . . .

Orchard Books

Christina the Winter Wonderland Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Franklin Watts

Gymnastics

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Orchard Books

Battle for the Shadow Sword

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Attack of the Bat Army

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade - with amazing comic-book style illustrations.There's a new evil escaping from the dark realm of Noxx. Jack and Team Hero must harness their special powers to stop the bat army from destroying the world. Team Hero needs you! Join Jack and battle the forces of darkness ...There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Battle for the Shadow Sword; Attack of the Bat Army; Reptile Reawakened; and The Skeleton WarriorAnd don't forget Adam Blade's other series: Beast Quet and Sea Quest

Orchard Books

Reptile Reawakened

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade - with amazing comic-book style illustrations.Hero Academy has been infiltrated by an enemy agent. Jack and the rest of Team Hero must discover who it is before the secret spy can tear their world apart.Hero Academy is under threat. You must escape now!There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Battle for the Shadow Sword; Attack of the Bat Army; Reptile Reawakened; and The Skeleton WarriorAnd don't forget Adam Blade's other series: Beast Quet and Sea Quest

Orchard Books

The Skeleton Warrior

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade!Students of Hero Academy: get ready! The Noxxian invasion is about to begin! And with your fellow classmate Danny a captive in the underground land of Noxx, it's time to take the fight to General Gore himself ...

Hodder Children's Books

Memorial

Gary Crew, Shaun Tan
Contributors:
Gary Crew, Shaun Tan

In 2014 the world will mark the 100th anniversary of the outbreak of the First World War. Internationally acclaimed author, Gary Crew, and multi-award-winning illustrator Shaun Tan have created a powerful picture book to help us all remember.When the soldiers return in 1918, a memorial tree is planted... 'Lest we forget'. But generations later, what do those who pause in the shadows of the tree's immense branches remember? A message we should never forget.Memorial serves as a reminder of the lessons to be gained from the past and examine the significance of conservation, respect and remembrance.

Orchard Books

Madara the Midnight Warrior

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

A ravenous Beast terrorises the windswept plains of Tavania: Madara the Midnight Warrior is on the prowl! If Tom cannot defeat her, the dark portals over the land will continue to destroy the kingdom...Don't miss CONVOL THE COLD-BLOODED BRUTEHELLION THE FIERY FOEKRESTOR THE CRUSHING TERRORELLIK THE LIGHTNING HORRORCARNIVORA THE WINGED SCAVENGER

Wayland

Vikings

Jane Bingham
Authors:
Jane Bingham

Travel back to the time of the Vikings! Where did they come from and where did they settle? What beliefs and traditions did they bring with them? How do we know about the Vikings? Explore this ancient civilisation to understand how prehistoric people have influenced the way we live today. Discover the artefacts that give evidence of they way of life.

Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family Moves House

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish