René Goscinny - Asterix and Caesar's Gift - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444013283
    • Publication date:03 Jul 2014
Books in this series

Asterix and Caesar's Gift

Album 21

By René Goscinny
Illustrated by Albert Uderzo

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The 21st album chronicling the adventures of Asterix and friends.

When Legionary Tremensdelirius gets the title deeds to the little Gaulish village as a bonus, he swaps them with tavern landlord Orthopaedix for a drink. Funnily enough, Asterix and his friends aren't keen to hand over their village to anyone else. After a chieftaincy election campaign and a showdown with the Romans, both events fiercely contested, can all still end well?

Biographical Notes

Rene Goscinny was born in Paris in 1926, and spent most of his childhood in Argentina, before eventually moving to Paris in 1951. He died in 1977. Albert Uderzo was born in 1927 in a small village in Marne, France. He met Rene Goscinny in 1951 and on 29 October 1959 their most famous creation, Asterix, made his first appearance on page 20 of Pilote. ASTERIX THE GAUL, their first album, was published in 1961 and there have now been 35 Asterix albums.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780752866468
  • Publication date: 17 Nov 2005
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Orchard Books

Menox the Sabre-Toothed Terror

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!Tom and Elenna's pirate enemy, Ria, is back - and she has a deadly new plan to take over the kingdom of Makai. Join our heroes as they battle Ria's Beast Menox, a monster with a tooth like a sword!There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Menox the Sabre-toothed Terror; Larnak the Swarming Menace; Jurog, Hammer of the Jungle and Nersepha the Cursed Siren

Orion Children's Books

The Boy At the Back of the Class

Onjali Q. Rauf
Authors:
Onjali Q. Rauf

Told with heart and humour, The Boy at the Back of the Class is a child's perspective on the refugee crisis, highlighting the importance of friendship and kindness in a world that doesn't always make sense.There used to be an empty chair at the back of my class, but now a new boy called Ahmet is sitting in it.He's nine years old (just like me), but he's very strange. He never talks and never smiles and doesn't like sweets - not even lemon sherbets, which are my favourite!But then I learned the truth: Ahmet really isn't very strange at all. He's a refugee who's run away from a War. A real one. With bombs and fires and bullies that hurt people. And the more I find out about him, the more I want to help.That's where my best friends Josie, Michael and Tom come in. Because you see, together we've come up with a plan. . .With beautiful illustrations by Pippa Curnick

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Worlds Collide

Chris Colfer
Authors:
Chris Colfer

The epic conclusion to Chris Colfer's No.1 New York Times bestselling series The Land of Stories! In the highly anticipated finale, Conner and Alex must brave the impossible. All of the Land of Stories fairy tale characters - heroes and villains - are no longer confined within their world!With mayhem brewing in the Big Apple, Conner and Alex will have to win their biggest battle yet. Can the twins restore order between the human and fairy-tale world? Breathtaking action mixed with laugh-out-loud moments and lots of heart will make this a gripping conclusion for fans old and new.

Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed
Orchard Books

Must End Soon

Jonathan Meres
Authors:
Jonathan Meres

The twelfth - AND FINAL - hilarious title in the award-winning, laugh-out-loud series, The World of Norm. Perfect for fans of Tom Gates and Diary of a Wimpy Kid.Norm knew it was going to be one of those days when he woke up and found himself about to pee in his mum's wardrobe...No change there then. Well, except that last time it was his dad's wardrobe. Apart from that, though, it's the same old same old, over and over again. No one understands him. Everything's unfair. Blah, blah, flipping blah. You'd think Norm's thirteenth birthday might cheer him up, right? WRONG! But even the worst nightmares have to end sooner or later, don't they? FINGERS FLIPPING CROSSED!!!With brilliantly funny illustrations throughout from Donough O'Malley. Praise for Jonathan Meres:'Hilarious stuff from one of my comic heroes!' - Harry Hill 'Jonathan Meres is flipping funny!' - Eddie Izzard

Hodder Children's Books

How to Train Your Dragon: How to Ride a Dragon's Storm

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Hodder Children's Books

Malory Towers Collection 2

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

For new girl Darrell Rivers, there are friends to be made, pranks to be played and fun to be had at Malory Towers in Enid Blyton's best-loved boarding school series.Upper FourthDarrell is very pleased to be head girl, but Alicia and Betty are determined to ruin her good work. Meanwhile, Darrell's sister Felicity joins Malory Towers and becomes best friends with none other than June - obnoxious, brash and Alicia's cousin.In the FifthEverybody at Malory Towers is excited about the Christmas pantomime. This year they'll be performing Cinderella and everybody wants to be involved. Matters turn very serious when head girl Moira receives an anonymous poison pen letter. Last TermDarrell and her friends have reached their last term at Malory Towers. But before they say good-bye one last time there are more adventures to be had, pranks to play and competitions to win. Expect drama at Malory Towers!Between 1946 and 1951, Enid Blyton wrote six novels set at Malory Towers. This collection features the original stories and is unillustrated.

Orchard Books

Ruby the Red Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Get ready for a magical fairy adventure with the no. 1 bestselling series for girls aged 5 and up!When Rachel and Kirsty meet on the ferry to Rainspell Island they have no idea the incredible magical adventures in store for them! Join the two best friends as they meet Ruby the Red Fairy, the first fairy to introduce them to the world of Rainbow Magic.'These stories are magic; they turn children into readers!' ReadingZone.comRead all seven fairy adventures in the Rainbow Fairies set! Ruby the Red Fairy; Amber the Orange Fairy; Saffron the Yellow Fairy; Fern the Green Fairy; Sky the Blue Fairy; Izzy the Indigo Fairy and Heather the Violet FairyIf you like Rainbow Magic, check out Daisy Meadows' other series: Magic Animal Friends!

Orchard Books

Fern the Green Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

When Rachel and Kirsty meet on the ferry to Rainspell Island one summer holiday, they have no idea that such magical adventures with the fairies await them! Join Rachel and Kirsty as they search a secret garden and a magical maze to try to find Fern the Green Fairy.

Orchard Books

Izzy the Indigo Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Franklin Watts

Electricity

Peter Riley
Authors:
Peter Riley

Moving Up with Science: Electricity reveals how electricity was discovered; what is inside a battery; and howto make your own series circuit. Explore the many uses of electricity and discover how to make your own buzzing robot.Find out all about the science in the world around us with Moving Up with Science. Written to support the National Curriculum at Key Stage 2, each title explores key scientific topics through a combination of concise information and fun experiments.

Franklin Watts

Sound

Peter Riley
Authors:
Peter Riley
Hodder Children's Books

Third Year

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

For new girl Darrell Rivers, there are friends to be made, pranks to be played and fun to be had at Malory Towers in Enid Blyton's best-loved boarding school series.In book three, there are lots of new students, including sophisticated Zerelda from America. This year, not only the girls face challenges - Bill's poor horse, Thunder, suffers from collic. Will Zerelda and Darrell become friends, and will Thunder survive?There's more drama at Malory Towers!Between 1946 and 1951, Enid Blyton wrote six novels set at Malory Towers. This edition features the original text and is unillustrated.

Orion Children's Books

Asterix and the Great Crossing

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Asterix and the Laurel Wreath

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Asterix and Obelix's Birthday

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Asterix and the Vikings

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Obelix and Co

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Asterix in Belgium

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Asterix and the Class Act

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo