René Goscinny - Asterix and Caesar's Gift - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £10.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780752866451
    • Publication date:16 Dec 2004
Books in this series

Asterix and Caesar's Gift

Album 21

By René Goscinny
Illustrated by Albert Uderzo

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The 21st album chronicling the adventures of Asterix and friends.

When Legionary Tremensdelirius gets the title deeds to the little Gaulish village as a bonus, he swaps them with tavern landlord Orthopaedix for a drink. Funnily enough, Asterix and his friends aren't keen to hand over their village to anyone else. After a chieftaincy election campaign and a showdown with the Romans, both events fiercely contested, can all still end well?

Biographical Notes

Rene Goscinny was born in Paris in 1926, and spent most of his childhood in Argentina, before eventually moving to Paris in 1951. He died in 1977. Albert Uderzo was born in 1927 in a small village in Marne, France. He met Rene Goscinny in 1951 and on 29 October 1959 their most famous creation, Asterix, made his first appearance on page 20 of Pilote. ASTERIX THE GAUL, their first album, was published in 1961 and there have now been 35 Asterix albums.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780752866468
  • Publication date: 17 Nov 2005
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

Agent Weasel and the Abominable Dr Snow

Nick East
Authors:
Nick East

Meet Agent Weasel: woodland super-spy. Can he save the Big Freeze winter games from disaster? And will there be enough marshmallows for another hot chocolate? Perfect for reading alone or sharing together, for fans of The Bolds and Toto the Ninja Cat.It's the opening night of the Big Freeze winter games, but all is not well in the United Woodlands. Top animal athletes are disappearing, and there are whispers of a silent snow beast on the prowl. It's time to call Agent Weasel, woodland super-spy. Can he and his trusty dormouse friend Doorkins find out more about the sleek winter ermine who are winning all the golden acorns? Will Weasel be able to take part in the competition without falling over his own feet? Will there be enough marshmallows and sprinkles for another hot chocolate? Who knows? But rest assured: even on the darkest, coldest and snowiest of nights, Agent Weasel always gets his animal. This is the second in the rib-ticklingly funny Agent Weasel series, with glorious illustrations throughout.

Hodder Children's Books

Christopher Pumpkin

Sue Hendra, Paul Linnet, Nick East
Contributors:
Sue Hendra, Paul Linnet, Nick East

Meet Christopher Pumpkin - the Halloween pumpkin who doesn't want to be scary! A funny rhyming story from the authors of Supertato and the creators of Simon Sock.Christopher Pumpkin is delighted to be magicked to life by a witch - until he discovers she wants him and the other pumpkins to get her creepy castle ready for the spookiest party ever! Chris just can't bring himself to hang cobwebs and cook curried slugs - he's much more into bunting and fairy cakes!A delightful story about blazing your own trail.Sue Hendra and Paul Linnet's hilarious books have sold over 1 million copies!

Hodder Children's Books

We Love You, Mr Panda

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony
Hodder Children's Books

BOOT - small robot, BIG adventure

Shane Hegarty
Authors:
Shane Hegarty
Wayland

The Fall of the Berlin Wall

Patricia Levy
Authors:
Patricia Levy

High-drama history, describing moment-by-moment the fall of the Berlin WallThirty years ago, on 9 November 1989, the Berlin Wall came down. This historic event is described in detail, focusing not only on the day itself, but also what led to the wall being there in the first place. It looks at the history of the Wall, explaining why it was built, as well as looking at the implications of what happened in the wider context of 20th century history. Real life accounts are included in moment-in-time boxes, acting as a freeze frame of people's thoughts, emotions and experiences as those from West Germany were at last free to travel to the East and vice versa.Complete with photographs, maps and a timeline, this is a fascinating insight into 20th century history.An ideal book to support the study of modern history in schools

Hodder Children's Books

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith
Hodder Children's Books

Toto the Ninja Cat and the Incredible Cheese Heist

Dermot O’Leary, Nick East
Contributors:
Dermot O’Leary, Nick East
Wren & Rook

The World of the Whale

Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward
Contributors:
Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward
Hodder Children's Books

Illegal

Eoin Colfer, Andrew Donkin, Giovanni Rigano
Contributors:
Eoin Colfer, Andrew Donkin, Giovanni Rigano
Wayland

Eating Well

Katie Woolley, Ryan Wheatcroft
Contributors:
Katie Woolley, Ryan Wheatcroft
Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed
Hodder Children's Books

Toto the Ninja Cat and the Great Snake Escape

Dermot O’Leary, Nick East
Contributors:
Dermot O’Leary, Nick East
Orion Children's Books

Traitor's Game

Jan Burchett, Sara Vogler
Authors:
Jan Burchett, Sara Vogler
Orchard Books

Sparkle Statue

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

Queen Malice has decided that Summer, Jasmine and Ellie are the cause of all her problems - so she's stolen their special talents!The only way to get their gifts back is to award four special talent prizes. But how can the girls give Jasper the Art Imp the Sparkle Statue without Ellie's artistic ability?

Orchard Books

Orchard Aesop's Fables

Michael Morpurgo, Emma Chichester Clark
Contributors:
Michael Morpurgo, Emma Chichester Clark

A timeless collection of over twenty of Aesop's best-loved fables, including favourites such as The Hare and the Tortoise, Town Mouse and Country Mouse, Dog in the Manger and The Lion and the Mouse. The tales are retold with warmth and humour by former Children's Laureate Michael Morpurgo and brought to life by Emma Chichester Clark's exquisitely playful and distinctive artwork.

Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 7

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Hodder Children's Books

Llama Llama Red Pyjama

Anna Dewdney
Authors:
Anna Dewdney

This award-winning rhyming story about bedtime anxiety is part of a New York Times bestselling series which includes Llama Llama Mad at Mama. Perfect for preschoolers and a joy to read aloud. It's bedtime and Baby Llama starts to worry as soon as his Mama leaves the room. His whimpers turn to hollers and before long it's an all-out llama drama!Find out more about Llama Llama at www.llamallamabook.com and www.annadewdney.com and discover the wonderful new app.'Uproariously funny... a comical classic.' Kirkus Reviews

Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 8

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

In this collectors' edition, books 22 to 24 are brought together in one fabulous volume.In ASTERIX AND THE GREAT CROSSING, a storm blows Asterix and Obelix off course. Luckily they land on the shores of a Roman colony - or is it? Teepees, totems, gobbling birds: it's not what they're used to. Julius Caesar sends Caius Preposterus, graduate of the Latin School of Economics, to corrupt the indomitable Gauls in OBELIX AND CO. Obelix's menhir trade is soon thriving - but does wealth bring happiness?In ASTERIX IN BELGIUM, the Gauls compete with the Belgian tribes to determine who is the bravest. But if the two groups unite, will Caesar meet his Waterloo?There is no better way to enjoy the antics of our indomitable hero and his friends.

Orchard Books

Mangler the Dark Menace

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Max and his friends have already fought off three terrible Robobeasts. Now they face the ultimate battle, as the evil Professor tries to use Mangler the Dark Menace to destroy the ocean worlds!Don't miss the other books in this series: Shredder the Spider Droid, Stinger the Sea Phantom and Crusher the Creeping Terror.

Orchard Books

Jewel Cavern

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

Wicked Queen Malice has cast a spell on Summer's storybook and unleashed all the fairytale baddies into the Secret Kingdom. Ellie, Summer and Jasmine travel to Jewel Cavern, where a huge fire-breathing dragon is running amok - and worst of all, he's got the magic storybook! Can the girls and their dream dragon friends rescue the book and get the last of the fairytale baddies back into it before the wonderful land is ruined for ever?