René Goscinny - Asterix and the Normans - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444013160
    • Publication date:03 Apr 2014
Books in this series

Asterix and the Normans

Album 9

By René Goscinny
Illustrated by Albert Uderzo

  • Hardback
  • £10.99

The ninth album chronicling the much-loved adventures of Asterix and friends.

A Norman invasion of the Gaulish village! But only trendy teenager Justforkix, visiting from Lutetia, fears them, for the Gauls have their magic potion. But the Normas themselves want to learn the meaning of fear: can Asterix and his friends teach them? Another secret weapon is brought into play...and at long last the bard Cacofonix wins the appreciation due to him.

Biographical Notes

Rene Goscinny was born in Paris in 1926, and spent most of his childhood in Argentina, before eventually moving to Paris in 1951. He died in 1977. Albert Uderzo was born in 1927 in a small village in Marne, France. He met Rene Goscinny in 1951 and on 29 October 1959 their most famous creation, Asterix, made his first appearance on page 20 of Pilote. ASTERIX THE GAUL, their first album, was published in 1961 and there have now been 35 Asterix albums.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780752866222
  • Publication date: 22 Jul 2004
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Wayland

You Can Be an Ice Skater

Alix Wood
Authors:
Alix Wood

When your favourite thing to do is physically active, it's easy to have fun and be fit! Readers will dive into swimming, bend over backwards for gymnastics, find peace with yoga, and more, through fun, informational content about many popular activities. Step-by-step instructions will help readers learn all the right moves, and even teach them how to pursue a career! Colourful photographs will draw future ice-skaters, dancers, and martial artists into the fascinating world of their sport - an encourage them to keep practicing! Main content inspires a healthy lifestyle through fun, varied types of exercise. Detailed sidebars give readers more ideas, examples, and information about different aspects of each physical activity. Step-by-step instructions and colourful photographs help readers learn how to do each activity.

Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Toe of Treachery

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Wren & Rook

The A–Z of Wonder Women

Yvonne Lin
Authors:
Yvonne Lin

Celebrate a whole alphabet of trailblazing, groundbreaking wonder women from around the world and through time, taking in Ada Lovelace, J. K. Rowling, Oprah Winfrey and every letter in between.Men and women, boys and girls need heroes to look up to, and to aspire to be. There are thousands upon thousands of books and films about amazing athletes, scientists, artists and explorers, but they're almost all men. Girls get princesses and mermaids - sure, not necessarily the worst career choices, but there aren't enough castles and beaches for the world's 3.5 billion women. This book brings incredible women out of the shadows, celebrates their success and acknowledges their achievements. Certain to empower and inspire women and girls everywhere, it's perfect for fans of The Little Book of Feminist Saints, Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls and We Should All Be Feminists.

Orchard Books

Evelyn the Mermicorn Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Three stories in one! Join Rachel and Kirsty for a magical adventure with another fairy friend in this bestselling and much-loved series for girls aged 5 and up!Evelyn the Mermicorn Fairy has a very special magical pet. But when Jack Frost steals him away from her, the magic of the mermicorn is in danger! Can Kirsty and Rachel help get him back?Have you read any other Rainbow Magic books? Try Ruby the Red Fairy to find out how Kirsty and Rachel's adventures began.

Wren & Rook

The You Are Awesome Journal

Matthew Syed, Lindsey Sagar, Toby Triumph
Contributors:
Matthew Syed, Lindsey Sagar, Toby Triumph
Hodder Children's Books

King Flashypants and the Boo-Hoo Witches

Andy Riley
Authors:
Andy Riley

"Kids everywhere will love this brilliant book!" MATT LUCAS"Brilliantly original and hilarious. It's nearly as good as one of my books." DAVID WALLIAMS"Two words - such fun!" MIRANDA HART"Beautiful, inventive and laugh-out-loud funny." SUE PERKINSGreat to read aloud with children of 5+ and perfect for newly independent readers of 7+.King Edwin Flashypants is back for his fourth hilarious adventure! Minister Jill has a secret. And it's something to do with the weird meadow in Edwinland. King Edwin always thought Minister Jill was a bit boring, like most grown-ups, but when she is kidnapped, he realises that her past might actually be very exciting indeed ...

Orion Children's Books

Asterix and Obelix's Birthday

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

A collection of 12 new stories - all linked by the theme of Asterix's anniversary celebration.

Orion Children's Books

Asterix and the Class Act

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Asterix and the Great Crossing

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

Out at sea fishing, Asterix and Obelix are blown off course in a storm. Luckily they land on the shores of a Roman colony - or is it? Teepees, totems, gobbling birds: it's not what they're used to. And what are the Viking explorers in their longship doing? But perhaps 50 BC is a little too early for a voyage of discovery to this strange New World...

Orion Children's Books

Asterix and the Soothsayer

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

One dark and stormy night, a sinister visitor arrives in the little Gaulish village. Prolix, who claims too be a soothsayer, prophesies that when the storm is over the weather will improve. And it does! Now the credulous villagers believe every word he says, but Asterix has his suspicions of the smooth-talking Prolix. Who is really right about the soothsayer?

Orion Children's Books

How Obelix Fell into the Magic Potion

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

All of the Asterix stories feature references to Obelix falling into the Druid's Cauldron of magic potion when he was about six years old. This was the event through which he derived his phenomenal physical strength. Here is the full story of how it happened.

Orion Children's Books

Asterix and the Vikings

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Obelix and Co

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Asterix in Belgium

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

Who are bravest, the Belgian tribes or the Gauls? And who can destroy more fortified Roman camps? When the contest ends in a draw, and Julius Caesar is asked to adjudicate, he goes into action against both Gauls and Belgians. They unite against him, inventing fish and chips along the way. But will Caesar meet his Waterloo?

Orion Children's Books

Asterix in Corsica

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Asterix and Caesar's Gift

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Asterix and the Laurel Wreath

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

Chief Vitalstatistix rashly invites his brother-in-law to dine of a stew seasoned with Caesar's laurel wreath, so Asterix and Obelix must go to Rome to fetch those laurels. Hoping to get access to Caesar, they sell themselves as slaves - but can they do a deal with the corrupt Goldendelicius to swap the laurels for parsley? If so, it will be their own Roman triumph.

Orion Children's Books

Asterix and the Roman Agent

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

The Mansions of The Gods

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Asterix in Switzerland

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

Quaestor Vexatius Sinustitis, who is about to expose the Roman governor's creative accountancy, has been poisoned. Can Getafix brew an antidote? Only if Asterix and Obelix find a certain flower for the druid's potion in Helvetia. What with bank safes, cuckoo hourglasses, yodelling and holes in the cheese, they're soon on a real Helvetian roll.