René Goscinny - Asterix and the Normans - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780752866239
    • Publication date:16 Jun 2005
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444013160
    • Publication date:03 Apr 2014
Books in this series

Asterix and the Normans

Album 9

By René Goscinny
Illustrated by Albert Uderzo

  • Hardback
  • £10.99

The ninth album chronicling the much-loved adventures of Asterix and friends.

A Norman invasion of the Gaulish village! But only trendy teenager Justforkix, visiting from Lutetia, fears them, for the Gauls have their magic potion. But the Normas themselves want to learn the meaning of fear: can Asterix and his friends teach them? Another secret weapon is brought into play...and at long last the bard Cacofonix wins the appreciation due to him.

Biographical Notes

Rene Goscinny was born in Paris in 1926, and spent most of his childhood in Argentina, before eventually moving to Paris in 1951. He died in 1977. Albert Uderzo was born in 1927 in a small village in Marne, France. He met Rene Goscinny in 1951 and on 29 October 1959 their most famous creation, Asterix, made his first appearance on page 20 of Pilote. ASTERIX THE GAUL, their first album, was published in 1961 and there have now been 35 Asterix albums.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780752866222
  • Publication date: 22 Jul 2004
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Wayland

Adventure Projects

Andrew Robinson
Authors:
Andrew Robinson

Wayland

Game Projects

Andrew Robinson
Authors:
Andrew Robinson

Orchard Books

Trixie and the Terrible Trick

G M Berrow
Authors:
G M Berrow
Orchard Books

Equestria Girls: A Friendship to Remember

Perdita Finn
Authors:
Perdita Finn
Franklin Watts

The Toxic Cookie Monster

Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Contributors:
Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Franklin Watts

Dr Vlogger

Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Contributors:
Tony Bradman, Wil Overton

Kid Force 3 are Jayden, Layla and Caleb. They aren't regular kids, they're super kids - each with an amazing superhero power.In this adventure, Dr Vlogger has taken over control of all electrical gadgets, and wants to take over the world. Kid Force 3 fly out to put in bug in his plansThis title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of books to get children reading with confidence. This series is suitable for guided reading with children aged 5+, but also for older readers with low reading confidence or struggling to enjoy books.

Orchard Books

The Littlest Things Give the Loveliest Hugs

Mark Sperring, Maddie Frost
Contributors:
Mark Sperring, Maddie Frost

This glorious rhyming celebration of love and hugs introduces baby animals from the jungle to the Antarctic, the forest to the ocean - along with their adoring parents! Ducklings, seal pups, penguins, chicks and cubs . . . every mummy and daddy knows that the littlest things give the loveliest hugs!With the feel of an instant classic, this lyrical book is perfect for cuddle time.Mark Sperring is the bestselling author of Father Christmas on the Naughty Step and How Many Sleeps Till Christmas.

Orchard Books

Fluttershy's Secret Song

This full-colour Early Reader is perfect for young pony fans just starting their own reading adventure.Fluttershy loves singing, but she's much too shy to perform in public. When Big Mac loses his voice before a concert with his band the Ponytones, Fluttershy volunteers to step in - as long as she can stay hidden. Can Fluttershy learn to overcome her fears?With all your favourite My Little Pony friends and simple language endorsed by a literacy consultant, learning to read has never been more fun!Collect all the Early Readers: Twilight Sparkle's Princess Spell, Pinkie Pie's Perfect Party, Rainbow Dash's Big Race!and Applejack's Sister Surprise.Or move on to My Little Pony chapter books: Twilight Sparkle and the Crystal Heart Spell Pinkie Pie and the Rockin' Pony Party Rainbow Dash and the Daring Do Double Dare Rarity and the Curious Case of Charity Applejack and the Secret Diary SwitcherooFluttershy and the Furry Friends Fair Discord and the Ponyville Players Princess Celestia and the Royal Rescue Princess Luna and the Winter Moon Festival Lyra and the Secret Agent Ponies

Orion Children's Books

The Cloak of Feathers

Nigel Quinlan
Authors:
Nigel Quinlan

Every hundred years, in the magical town of Knowmealldown, fairies known as the Good Folk join the villagers for a Great Festival. It's a raucous, beautiful, enchanted celebration.Well, it's supposed to be.Except every time Brian helps to organise the Great Festival it's a disappointment. Worse, this time the Folk Princess has been stolen. Can Brian thwart the Princess's evil captor in time to avoid the wrath of the Folk King and Queen, and finally deliver a Festival to remember?A magical adventure filled with myth, mischief and misunderstandings, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones and those who love modern fairy tales with a comic twist.

Orion Children's Books

Silent Enemy and The Walk of Death

Jan Burchett, Sara Vogler
Authors:
Jan Burchett, Sara Vogler

Franklin Watts

Robin Hood

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Andrew Tunney
Contributors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Andrew Tunney
Orion Children's Books

Asterix and the Chariot Race

Jean-Yves Ferri, Didier Conrad
Contributors:
Jean-Yves Ferri, Didier Conrad
Orchard Books

Discover Art with Katie

James Mayhew
Authors:
James Mayhew

Orchard Books

Learn to Draw with Katie

James Mayhew
Authors:
James Mayhew
Wayland

Boudicca

Paul Harrison
Authors:
Paul Harrison
Hodder Children's Books

Pegasus and the End of Olympus

Kate O'Hearn
Authors:
Kate O'Hearn
Wayland

Emmeline Pankhurst

Kay Barnham
Authors:
Kay Barnham
Wayland

Charles Darwin

Kay Barnham
Authors:
Kay Barnham
Wayland

King John

Paul Harrison
Authors:
Paul Harrison
Wayland

Mary Anning

Kay Barnham
Authors:
Kay Barnham

'She sells sea shells on the sea shore' - and she really did! This rhyme is thought to have been written about Mary Anning, an amazing fossilist and dinosaur expert, who was almost unknown at the time she lived. This biography explores the life of Mary Anning, from her first fossil finds at the age of ten to her sales of important discoveries to wealthy scientists. Mary's fossil finds made a great contribution to what scientist understood about pre-historic life. Through the story of Mary Anning, readers learn about life and society in the 1800s and Victorian Britain. We learn what it was like to be born into a poor family and about the roles of women in society and in the field of science. Readers will learn to draw conclusions from the evidence provided - a great basis for class discussions.History VIP biographies each look at the life of a famous Briton telling the stories of these Very Important People with clear, lively text. Amazing facts are added with feature panels and lively illustrations give visual information of the time and society the VIP lived in. With these key biographies students learn how individual people's actions have shaped the course of history. Key terms are defined in an easy-to-use glossary encouraging readers to use historical terms in their own work. Features include:In other news - these panels give context and help readers to understand the society and events of the wider world in which the subject livedTrue or False - questions lead students to question information and to interact with the facts they are presented with. What they said - quote features bring the subjects to life using their own words!WOW! - Boxes add humorous or amazing information to astound the reader and bring out the hilarious side of history