René Goscinny - Asterix and the Goths - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £10.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780752866147
    • Publication date:15 Apr 2004
Books in this series

Asterix and the Goths

Album 3

By René Goscinny
Illustrated by Albert Uderzo

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The third album chronicling the much-loved adventures of Asterix and friends.

Asterix and Obelix escort Getafix to the druids' annual conference in the Forest of the Carnutes. Little do they know that the Goths are lying in ambush, ready to kidnap the Druid of the Year - who of course is Getafix! But what with Gauls, Goths and Romans all at odds, it's hard to tell friend from foe... until Goths begin fighting Goths in the Asterixian Wars.

Biographical Notes

Rene Goscinny was born in Paris in 1926, and spent most of his childhood in Argentina, before eventually moving to Paris in 1951. He died in 1977. Albert Uderzo was born in 1927 in a small village in Marne, France. He met Rene Goscinny in 1951 and on 29 October 1959 their most famous creation, Asterix, made his first appearance on page 20 of Pilote. ASTERIX THE GAUL, their first album, was published in 1961 and there have now been 35 Asterix albums.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780752866154
  • Publication date: 21 Apr 2005
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Wayland

Adventure Projects

Andrew Robinson
Authors:
Andrew Robinson

Wayland

Game Projects

Andrew Robinson
Authors:
Andrew Robinson

Orchard Books

Trixie and the Terrible Trick

G M Berrow
Authors:
G M Berrow

Join all your My Little Pony friends in these brilliant original adventures, inspired by the hit TV show.Trixie is on a mission - to impress the legendary Starmane Society of Magicians with a spectacular feat of magic. She can't believe her luck when she develops a mysterious glowing hoof, transforming everything she touches into precious gems! This is sure to do the trick ...But when the glow starts to spread Trixie's in trouble! Can the My Little Pony friends reverse the curse before it's too late?

Orchard Books

Equestria Girls: A Friendship to Remember

Perdita Finn
Authors:
Perdita Finn

In the human world, far from Equestria, there are some very familiar girls . . . Meet Pinkie Pie, Rainbow Dash and all the My Little Pony friends as you've never seen them before in this magical High School adventure.Part students, part magical pony girls, the Equestria Girls are always ready to save the day!

Franklin Watts

The Toxic Cookie Monster

Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Contributors:
Tony Bradman, Wil Overton

Kid Force 3 are Jayden, Layla and Caleb. They aren't regular kids, they're super kids - each with an amazing superhero power.In Toxic Cookie Monster a bad bag of cookies turns a teacher into a monster, and Kid Force 3 have to save the town from her chocolate chip craving.This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of books to get children reading with confidence. This series is suitable for guided reading with children aged 5+, but also for older readers with low reading confidence or struggling to enjoy books.

Franklin Watts

Dr Vlogger

Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Contributors:
Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Orchard Books

The Littlest Things Give the Loveliest Hugs

Mark Sperring, Maddie Frost
Contributors:
Mark Sperring, Maddie Frost
Orchard Books

Fluttershy's Secret Song

Orion Children's Books

The Cloak of Feathers

Nigel Quinlan
Authors:
Nigel Quinlan

Every hundred years, in the magical town of Knowmealldown, fairies known as the Good Folk join the villagers for a Great Festival. It's a raucous, beautiful, enchanted celebration.Well, it's supposed to be.Except every time Brian helps to organise the Great Festival it's a disappointment. Worse, this time the Folk Princess has been stolen. Can Brian thwart the Princess's evil captor in time to avoid the wrath of the Folk King and Queen, and finally deliver a Festival to remember?A magical adventure filled with myth, mischief and misunderstandings, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones and those who love modern fairy tales with a comic twist.

Orion Children's Books

Silent Enemy and The Walk of Death

Jan Burchett, Sara Vogler
Authors:
Jan Burchett, Sara Vogler

Franklin Watts

Robin Hood

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Andrew Tunney
Contributors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Andrew Tunney
Orion Children's Books

Asterix and the Chariot Race

Jean-Yves Ferri, Didier Conrad
Contributors:
Jean-Yves Ferri, Didier Conrad

The next action-packed adventure from Asterix and Obelix!The roads across Italy are in disrepair. Defending his name, and to prove Rome's greatness, Senator Lactus Bifidus announces a special one-off chariot race. Julius Caesar insists a Roman must win, or Bifidus will pay. Open to anyone from the known world, competitors arrive from far and wide, including Asterix and Obelix. With Bifidus secretly scheming, who will win this almighty chariot race?

Orchard Books

Discover Art with Katie

James Mayhew
Authors:
James Mayhew

Orchard Books

Learn to Draw with Katie

James Mayhew
Authors:
James Mayhew
Wayland

Charles Darwin

Kay Barnham
Authors:
Kay Barnham
Hodder Children's Books

Pegasus and the End of Olympus

Kate O'Hearn
Authors:
Kate O'Hearn
Wayland

Emmeline Pankhurst

Kay Barnham
Authors:
Kay Barnham

Votes for Women! This biography tells the story of Emmeline Pankhurst, from her early campaigns for the rights of women to vote, through the formation of the Women's Social and Political Union, to the triumph following the First World War of the granting of rights for women. Emmeline believed that action was the way to get her cause noticed and to gain support.Through the story of Emmeline Pankhurst's strive for women's suffrage, we learn about the role of women in the society of Victorian Britain and the early 1900s. Looking at the challenges faced by society helps readers to consider their own life and time and how they have been shaped by the actions of individuals in the past. Readers will learn to draw conclusions from the evidence provided - a great basis for classroom discussion.History VIP biographies each look at the life of a famous Briton telling the stories of these Very Important People with clear, lively text. Amazing facts are added with feature panels and graphic-style illustrations give visual information of the time and society the VIP lived in. With these key biographies students learn how individual people's actions have shaped the course of history. Key terms are defined in an easy-to-use glossary encouraging readers to use historical terms in their own work. Features include:In other news - these panels give context and help readers to understand the society and events of the wider world in which the subject livedTrue or False - questions lead students to question information and to interact with the facts they are presented with. What they said - quote features bring the subjects to life using their own words!WOW! - Boxes add humorous or amazing information to astound the reader and bring out the hilarious side of history

Wayland

Boudicca

Paul Harrison
Authors:
Paul Harrison
Wayland

King John

Paul Harrison
Authors:
Paul Harrison
Wayland

Mary Anning

Kay Barnham
Authors:
Kay Barnham

'She sells sea shells on the sea shore' - and she really did! This rhyme is thought to have been written about Mary Anning, an amazing fossilist and dinosaur expert, who was almost unknown at the time she lived. This biography explores the life of Mary Anning, from her first fossil finds at the age of ten to her sales of important discoveries to wealthy scientists. Mary's fossil finds made a great contribution to what scientist understood about pre-historic life. Through the story of Mary Anning, readers learn about life and society in the 1800s and Victorian Britain. We learn what it was like to be born into a poor family and about the roles of women in society and in the field of science. Readers will learn to draw conclusions from the evidence provided - a great basis for class discussions.History VIP biographies each look at the life of a famous Briton telling the stories of these Very Important People with clear, lively text. Amazing facts are added with feature panels and lively illustrations give visual information of the time and society the VIP lived in. With these key biographies students learn how individual people's actions have shaped the course of history. Key terms are defined in an easy-to-use glossary encouraging readers to use historical terms in their own work. Features include:In other news - these panels give context and help readers to understand the society and events of the wider world in which the subject livedTrue or False - questions lead students to question information and to interact with the facts they are presented with. What they said - quote features bring the subjects to life using their own words!WOW! - Boxes add humorous or amazing information to astound the reader and bring out the hilarious side of history