Carol Ballard - Animal Variation and Classification - Hachette Children's Group

Animal Variation and Classification

By Carol Ballard

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Explore how our classification system helps us make sense of the natural world. A great revision tool for Key Stage 3 Science!

Find out how our classification system helps us make sense of the natural world. This book explains how our animal classification system works and how scientists use it to identify and group animal species. It explores evolution, mutation and the variation between and within animal species and discusses how and why such variations have occurred.

Includes fieldwork investigations that show how to classify animals using various keys and fascinating fact boxes that offer in-depth information on topics such as breeding. An activity project shows students at Key Stage 3 how to classify the birds in their area.

The six books in the Living Processes series look at the processes all living organisms must carry out in order to stay alive. From feeding and drinking through to breathing and reproducing, it explores the differing ways in which organisms carry them out.

Biographical Notes

Dr Carol Ballard has written several children's books on human biology and health. A specialist in primary science, she currently teaches science, mathematics and geography in primary school.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750296335
  • Publication date: 10 Sep 2015
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Wayland
Franklin Watts

Earthquakes and Tsunamis

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard

Franklin Watts

Volcanoes and Avalanches

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard

Look inside natural disasters and discover how they work!Natural disasters devastate communities. They reshape the landscape and can alter people's ways of life in an area for years after the event. Learn all about volcanoes and avalanches. Find out how they form, where they are most to happen and how scientists study them through diagrams and case studies.Explore how natural disasters work by cracking them open and looking at them from the inside. How do they happen? How are they destructive? What happens on the inside of each phenomena? And where in the world are the danger zones? This series explore each of these questions in detail.This series uses detailed artwork, cutaways and images from real-life to give a rounded view of each event. Perfect for readers aged 9 and up.

Wayland

The Tech-Head Guide to ... Drones

William Potter
Authors:
William Potter
Wayland

The Tech-Head Guide to ... AIs

William Potter
Authors:
William Potter

What is artificial intelligence, how does it work, what is it being used for and what role may it play in the future? Big impactful photos fill the spreads with pulled out features and leader lines highlighting the science and technology at work. These bits of technology are infiltrating all areas of our lives, including the home, our social life, the world of work, health and education. The supportive functions and the sinister elements are all explored.An essential guide to our future overlords - geek up on the technology that drives these machines and prepare for their takeover.

Wayland

Meet the Minibeasts

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley
Franklin Watts

Teen Pioneers

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard
Franklin Watts

Plastic Planet

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Wayland

Amazing Jobs: Engineering

Colin Hynson
Authors:
Colin Hynson

Discover the amazing array of jobs within the field of engineering that you never knew existed. From the structural engineers who design the concrete and steel structures that keep skyscrapers and other buildings from falling down, to the robotics engineers who construct industrial robots and walking robots and the aeronautical engineers who design aircrafts. Read about the academic and vocational routes you can take to reach these jobs and how to get ahead in these exciting professions whilst you are at school and college.

Wayland

Amazing Jobs: Maths

Colin Hynson
Authors:
Colin Hynson

Discover the amazing array of jobs within the field of maths that you never knew existed! From the cryptologists who use their coding skills to break secret codes for governments and the military, to the cosmologists working to find out how the Universe began and how it might end and the music data scientists who analyse online data to detect trends in music.Read about the academic and vocational routes you can take to reach these jobs and how to get ahead in these exciting professions whilst you are at school and college.

Orion Children's Books

Izzy + Tristan

Shannon Dunlap
Authors:
Shannon Dunlap
Hodder Children's Books

The Survival Game

Nicky Singer
Authors:
Nicky Singer

'A wonderful, surprisingly delicate story about a teenager making her way home to Scotland in a world remade by climate change (aimed at YA readers but, like all good children's books, good for adults too)' Lucy Mangan, i WeekendIn a world full of checkpoints and controls, can love and hope defy the borders? A searing, timely story, as arresting as it is beautiful. Imagine a world ... Where there are too many people on a too-hot earth and your only chance of salvation is to journey north.Where you must prove yourself worthy of existence at every turn, at every checkpoint.Where your instincts become your most powerful weapon - even more than the gun in your pocket.Where you find out what it takes to survive.An extraordinary story about survival and what it costs, about the power of small kindnesses to change everything.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Truth of Different Skies

Kate Ling
Authors:
Kate Ling

What makes you abandon your world? How do you say goodbye when it's forever? A heart-breaking story about survival, love and hope. For fans of Meg Rosoff and Beth Revis.'I've always feared this place would keep me rooted forever . . . but now, without gravity, I'm flying, floating, falling' Bea feels trapped. Having never left her small town and with no money or anyone to rely on, she faces the inevitable future of a dead-end job - forced to survive, rather than live. When a message arrives from space, a mission is planned to travel to its source. Bea knows she has to be chosen to go, no matter what it takes, even though it means leaving Earth forever. Her life has to matter. Except she didn't plan on falling in love before she left . . .

Franklin Watts

Ten Diggers and Digging Machines

JP Percy
Authors:
JP Percy
Franklin Watts

Understanding Transgender

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

A sensitive book that explores the issue of people who feel they do belong to the gender they were born with. It looks at what this means for the person and their family, issues around school policy, bullying and discrimination and explores the journey of transitioning.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.

Wayland

The Amazing Life Cycle of Butterflies

Kay Barnham
Authors:
Kay Barnham
Franklin Watts

Self-Esteem and Confidence

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Franklin Watts

Family Differences

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Franklin Watts

Overcoming Fear of Failure

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

Lots of people suffer from a fear of failure. It is one of the biggest causes of anxiety and stress for school students. Fear of failure can make us afraid to try new things. For some it means that they have to come first at everything they do. For many fear of failure is linked with low self-esteem. It can make people feel inadequate and ruin their self-confidence. This book explores why we fear failure and how we can overcome it - from understanding that making mistakes isn't always bad to breaking out of our comfort zones. The book ties in with the 'growth mindset' theory - that success is based on hard work, trying and being prepared to fail and pick yourself up again.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.

Franklin Watts

Cultural Issues

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Franklin Watts

In the Home

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards

Have you ever wondered how we invented the objects that make our homes comfortable, like the television, the washing machine, the toaster? Learn all about the history of the objects that we cannot do without in our homes in It'll Never Work: In the Home, a book that explores the invention of household items that have become essential to our daily life and the successes and failures that have led to the comforts and entertainment that we know today.Each title in this exciting, high-interest series looks at a different area of technology and engineering and reveals the pioneering ideas and scientific thinking that enabled its development, as well as exposing those that proved to be a dead end. Each spread examines a particular example in depth, bringing in other similar ideas where relevant, and revealing that experimentation and failure often pave the way to technology success. Beautifully designed and illustrated with infographic-style artwork, this series is an excellent technology resource for readers aged 9 and up.