Carol Ballard - Animal Variation and Classification - Hachette Children's Group

Animal Variation and Classification

By Carol Ballard

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Explore how our classification system helps us make sense of the natural world. A great revision tool for Key Stage 3 Science!

Find out how our classification system helps us make sense of the natural world. This book explains how our animal classification system works and how scientists use it to identify and group animal species. It explores evolution, mutation and the variation between and within animal species and discusses how and why such variations have occurred.

Includes fieldwork investigations that show how to classify animals using various keys and fascinating fact boxes that offer in-depth information on topics such as breeding. An activity project shows students at Key Stage 3 how to classify the birds in their area.

The six books in the Living Processes series look at the processes all living organisms must carry out in order to stay alive. From feeding and drinking through to breathing and reproducing, it explores the differing ways in which organisms carry them out.

Biographical Notes

Dr Carol Ballard has written several children's books on human biology and health. A specialist in primary science, she currently teaches science, mathematics and geography in primary school.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750296335
  • Publication date: 10 Sep 2015
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Wayland
Wayland

Game Projects

Andrew Robinson
Authors:
Andrew Robinson
Wayland

The Fall of the Berlin Wall

Patricia Levy
Authors:
Patricia Levy
Franklin Watts

Cats & kittens

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch
Wayland

Inventions

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Hodder Children's Books

The Other Side of Lost

Nick Lake
Authors:
Nick Lake
Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Egg of Glory

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell

Quercus Children's Books

The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken

Every family has secrets - but not every family has a secret pact with a demon.A darkly comic tale with thrilling twists and turns that will keep every reader guessing. Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket, Jonathan Stroud and Skulduggery Pleasant.Prosper is the only unexceptional Redding in his remarkable family. So, when he discovers that an 800-year-old demon called Alastor is responsible for their luck - and that this demon is currently living inside him - he's more than a little surprised.Alastor isn't keen to be banished back to the demon realm and will do anything to try and trick his unwilling host into a contract - from nasty insults to wild promises. And even more unnerving, his power over Prosper seems to be growing with each passing night. Prosper has only days to break the curse - a feat that seems impossible. But with the help of a feisty witch-in-training, maybe he can do it?

Quercus Children's Books

The Darkest Legacy

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken

Don't miss the hotly-anticipated new novel in the New York Times bestselling Darkest Minds series by Alexandra Bracken, just in time for the major motion picture adaptation of The Darkest Minds, starring Amandla Stenberg and Mandy Moore! It's five years since the destruction of the rehabilitation camps that imprisoned Zu and her friends ... but the battle is far from over.Seventeen-year-old Suzume 'Zu' Kimura has assumed the role of spokesperson for the interim government, fighting for the rights of the kids once persecuted for their powers. But though they are no longer imprisoned, the Psi still face huge prejudice, and a growing tide of misinformation. When Zu is accused of committing a horrifying act, she is forced to go on the run in order to stay alive. Determined to clear her name, Zu travels in search of safety and answers, but soon uncovers a dark truth that threatens the future of all Psi. With enemies everywhere, who can she trust to help her fight back and save the friends who were once her protectors?Alexandra Bracken is the New York Times bestselling author of Passenger, Wayfarer and The Darkest Minds series. Visit her online at www.alexandrabracken.com and on Twitter @alexbracken

Hodder Children's Books

Arrowheart

Rebecca Sky
Authors:
Rebecca Sky
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Summer of Us

Cecilia Vinesse
Authors:
Cecilia Vinesse

Five friends. Five cities. Two complicated love stories . . . The perfect read for fans of Jennifer E Smith and Sara Barnard.Aubrey and Rae have been planning their European tour since the moment they met. It was meant to be the perfect way to spend their last summer together before university, but now it's not just the two of them . . .There's Jonah, Aubrey's seemingly perfect boyfriend, and Gabe, who Aubrey may have accidentally kissed. Then there's Clara, the friend Rae is crushing on, hard, even though there's no hope because Clara is into guys, not girls. And on top of all that Aubrey and Rae's friendship appears to be falling apart. Things are more complicated at eighteen than they were at ten.Set off on a romantic adventure that embraces warm summer nights, the thrill of first kisses and the bittersweet ache of saying goodbye to the past.

Franklin Watts

Ten Trucks

Chris Oxlade
Authors:
Chris Oxlade
Franklin Watts

Ten Tractors and Farm Machines

JP Percy
Authors:
JP Percy
Franklin Watts

Spacecraft

Sally Spray
Authors:
Sally Spray

Follow the developments of spacecrafts, as they have got more advanced, have travelled further and helped us explore the universe through engineering skill, design and ambition.Get to grips with the mind-boggling advances that have been made in engineering, and find out about awe-inspiring developments in technology. The books in the Awesome Engineering series are filled with impactful artwork, diagrams and explanations that make the awesome feats of engineering easy to understand.Presents a chronology of landmark engineering achievements from around the world with fascinating facts about each construction Bright and bold artwork, alongside clear explanations and diagrams, guide you through a chronology of landmark engineering achievements from around the world.

Franklin Watts

Tunnels

Sally Spray
Authors:
Sally Spray

Follow the developments of tunnels, as they have gone deeper underground, have travelled further and helped us transport people, energy and goods through engineering skill, design and ambition. Get to grips with the mind-boggling advances that have been made in engineering. Find out about awe-inspiring buildings and technology. he books in the Awesome Engineering series are filled with impactful artwork, diagrams and explanations that make the awesome feats of engineering easy to understand.Bright and bold artwork, alongside clear explanations and diagrams, guide you through a chronology of landmark engineering achievements from around the world.Perfect for readers aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

Bridges

Sally Spray
Authors:
Sally Spray

Follow the development of bridges, as they have grown longer and bigger, and more fantastical through engineering skill, design and ambition.Get to grips with the mind-boggling advances that have been made in engineering. Find out about awe-inspiring buildings and technology. he books in the Awesome Engineering series are filled with impactful artwork, diagrams and explanations that make the awesome feats of engineering easy to understand.Bright and bold artwork, alongside clear explanations and diagrams, guide you through a chronology of landmark engineering achievements from around the world.Perfect for readers aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

Trains, Planes and Ships

Sally Spray
Authors:
Sally Spray
Hodder Children's Books

Indigo Donut

Patrice Lawrence
Authors:
Patrice Lawrence

The breathtaking second book from the author of Orangeboy, winner of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize for Older Readers and the YA Book Prize and shortlisted for the Costa Book Award .Praise for Orangeboy:"A truly brilliant book." Malorie Blackman"Incredible book. Thank you Patrice Lawrence for such a fresh and riveting piece of fiction." Ben Bailey Smith (Doc Brown)Seventeen-year-old Indigo has had a tough start in life, having grown up in the care system after her dad killed her mum. Bailey, also seventeen, lives with his parents in Hackney and spends all his time playing guitar or tending to his luscious ginger afro. When Indigo and Bailey meet at sixth form, serious sparks fly. But when Bailey becomes the target of a homeless man who seems to know more about Indigo than is normal, Bailey is forced to make a choice he should never have to make. A life-affirming story about falling in love and everyone's need to belong.

Franklin Watts

Suffragettes and the Fight for the Vote

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley
Quercus Children's Books

The Darkest Minds

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Franklin Watts

Dogs & puppies

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch