Alice Harman - Scotland - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Scotland

By Alice Harman

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

Follow the Fact Cat and discover the world,learning about a vast array of subjects on the way from space and science to ancient history and geography!

What is an Ulster Fry? Which famous sight is 50 million years old? How do you play Gaelic football?

Discover the answers to all of these questions and learn all about Northern Ireland and the people who live there. Explore the cities of Belfast, Londonderry and Armagh, and discover the traditional foods that people like to eat. See Northern Ireland's famous sights, including the fantastic Giant's Causeway, and find out about the tragic Titanic.

The Fact Cat series takes children at nursery age through to Key Stage 1 and above on a journey to discover the world around them, learning about a vast array of subjects on the way from space and science to ancient history and geography!

Biographical Notes

Alice Harman is an experienced author of books for children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750289283
  • Publication date: 25 Jun 2015
  • Page count: 24
  • Imprint: Wayland
Franklin Watts

Clothes

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley

Fashions changes all the time but what we wore can tell us a lot about the times we lived in. From clothes rationing, making do and mending to 1990s fashion, this book gives young children access to people's memories alongside photographs to help them build up a picture of the past. It is part of the 'Tell me what you remember' series, which explores changes in living memory through photographs and memories. It is a perfect teaching tool for KS1 or for children up to age 7.

Wayland

The Amazing Plant Life Cycle Story

Kay Barnham
Authors:
Kay Barnham

Dig deep and explore the incredible plant life cycle story. From tiny seeds to small shoots, long branches and mighty tree trunks, explore the life cycle of plants and find out what plants need to help them grow.Follow the journey of a young boy and girl as they find out about how plants grow. This beautifully illustrated picture book explains why insects are important to plants, how seeds travel and why plants are important to us all. 'Look and Wonder' is a fresh, bold and bright, narrative non-fiction picture book series, for children aged 4 and up, introducing children to life cycles and the natural world. The eye-poppingly colourful digital illustration style will explain the scientific concepts while the light and fun text-style will make these books real home and classroom favourites.Perfect for the EYFS and KS1 primary curriculum study of life cycles.Other titles in the series:A Stroll Through the SeasonsA Wonderful World of WeatherIncredible RainforestsThe Amazing Butterfly Life Cycle StoryThe Amazing Plant Life Cycle StoryThe Awesome Night SkyThe Great Big Water Cycle Adventure

Franklin Watts

I am Josephine - and I am a Living Thing

Jan Thornhill, Jacqui Lee
Contributors:
Jan Thornhill, Jacqui Lee
Franklin Watts

Human Rights

Alice Harman, David Broadbent
Contributors:
Alice Harman, David Broadbent

How can you be a good global citizen? By understanding the world we live in and how we can effect change. This book explore what human rights are, what happens when they are respected and when they are limited, for example losing your right to freedom if you commit a crime. The book looks at movements such as Black Lives Matter and at how we can all help to protect human rights through activation.The I'm a Global Citizen series explores the concept of 'Global Citizenship': recognising that the world we live in is unfair and unequal, but promoting individual and collective action to challenge and change this. Each book has information, fun activities, challenges, case studies and ideas for group and individual action presented with fun illustrations. The books promote the idea that we have power as individuals: each of us can change things, and each of us has choices about how we behave. They encourage children aged 8+ to counter ignorance and intolerance.

Franklin Watts

A Peaceful World

Alice Harman, David Broadbent
Contributors:
Alice Harman, David Broadbent

How can you be a good global citizen? By understanding the world we live in and how we can effect change. This book explores the issues peace and conflict including why peace is important and how we can keep the peace. It includes a profile of Leymah Gbowee and projects such as how to activate to draw a peace path and how to organise a day of peace.The I'm a Global Citizen series explores the concept of 'Global Citizenship': recognising that the world we live in is unfair and unequal, but promoting individual and collective action to challenge and change this. Each book has information, fun activities, challenges, case studies and ideas for group and individual action presented with fun illustrations. The books promote the idea that we have power as individuals: each of us can change things, and each of us has choices about how we behave. They encourage children aged 8+ to counter ignorance and intolerance.

Hodder Children's Books

Claude Best in Show

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith

Orchard Books

Rainbow Magic: Shannon the Ocean Fairy - Narwhal Special

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Shannon the Ocean Fairy needs Rachel and Kirsty's help! Naughty Jack Frost has stolen her three enchanted pearls, and this is causing chaos in the oceans. To stop him, the girls must explore an underwater world and meet some very special friends...the narwhals!

Hodder Children's Books

How to Train Your Dragon The Hidden World: 1001 Stickers

Based on the billion dollar DreamWorks franchise, join Hiccup and Toothless in this fun-filled sticker activity book - with over 1000 stickers!A dragon-filled activity book perfect for fans of How To Train Your Dragon! This sticker book is packed with games, activities and over 1000 stickers of all of your favourite Dragons characters. Look out for more How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World books:How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World 1001 StickersHow to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World Dragon GlidersHow to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World Glow in the Dark Sticker BookHow to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World The Story of the FilmHow to Train Your Dragon Ultimate Movie GuideHow to Train Your Dragon is now a major DreamWorks franchise. How to Train Your Dragon 3 is scheduled for release in 2019 and the TV series Defenders of Berk can be seen on CBBC and Netflix.

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Fiction: Old Friends New Battles

Ash and his friends from the Poké,on School are visiting his home region of Kanto. They're ready for lots of adventures!When they visit the Cerulean City Gym, Ash and Pikachu take on his old friend Misty and her Gyarados - who will win the mighty battle? Gotta catch 'em all!

Franklin Watts

Racism

Anita Ganeri, Ximena Jeria
Contributors:
Anita Ganeri, Ximena Jeria

Racism is a very hard concept for children to understand, so it is important children learn about respect and equality and how to deal with discrimination, should they encounter it. This hands-on picture book is designed to help children with their questions and feelings about tricky topics that can be hard to talk about. The exquisite and approachable illustrations give a comforting story book feel, particularly aimed at 5-7 year olds, while also appealing to both younger and older children. A perfect aid to help children open up and explore how they feel and give them steps they can take to help them cope.

Franklin Watts

Adoption

Anita Ganeri, Ximena Jeria
Contributors:
Anita Ganeri, Ximena Jeria
Franklin Watts

The Town Makeover

Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks

This book explores the theme of civic or community pride in shared spaces and is suitable for young children aged 5+. Noah is really looking forward to his favourite magician visiting his town but he thinks his town needs a makeover before he comes. He and his family and friends get to work clearing litter and decorating the town. But how do they all feel when it looks like the magician can't make it after all? For children following Book Bands, it is suitable for children reading at band 5: green.The book is a part of the British Values series which explores tricky subjects such as democracy, the rule of law, mutual respect and tolerance through fun illustrated stories. Each book includes teacher notes for discussing the theme of the story.

Franklin Watts

Champion Gran

Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Hodder Children's Books

Brer Rabbit Story Collection

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Deep Sea Dive

Frank Lampard
Authors:
Frank Lampard
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Team T. Rex

Frank Lampard
Authors:
Frank Lampard
Wayland

Earth

Alice Harman
Authors:
Alice Harman
Franklin Watts

School

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley

Everyone has memories of their school days. This book gives young children access to people's memories alongside photographs to help them build up a picture of the past. From nursery education to the transition to secondary school, young children can explore what has changed and what remains the same.The book is part of the 'Tell me what you remember' series, which explores changes in living memory through photographs and memories.

Hodder Children's Books

How to Train Your Dragon

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

Read the books that inspired the DreamWorks How to Train Your Dragon films.THE STORY BEGINS in the first volume of Hiccup's How to Train Your Dragon memoirs... Hiccup Horrendous Haddock III was an awesome sword-fighter, a dragon-whisperer and the greatest Viking Hero who ever lived. But it wasn't always like that. In fact, in the beginning, Hiccup Horrendous Haddock III was the most put upon Viking you'd ever seen. Not loud enough to make himself heard at dinner with his father, Stoick the Vast; not hard enough to beat his chief rival, Snotlout, at Bashyball, the number one school sport and CERTAINLY not stupid enough to go into a cave full of dragons to find a pet... It's time for Hiccup to learn how to be a Hero.Read all of Hiccup's exploits in the How to Train Your Dragon series: How to Train Your Dragon, How to Be a Pirate, How to Speak Dragonese, How to Cheat a Dragon's Curse, How to Twist a Dragon's Tale, A Hero's Guide to Deadly Dragons, How to Ride a Dragon's Storm, How to Break a Dragon's Heart, How to Steal a Dragon's Sword, How to Seize a Dragon's Jewel and How to Betray a Dragon's Hero. Check out the Hiccup website at www.howtotrainyourdragonbooks.com. It's the place to go for games, downloads, activities and sneak peeks! Read all about Hiccup and all of your favourite characters, learn to speak Dragonese and train your own dragon to do tricks!

Orchard Books

I Love My Mummy

Giles Andreae, Emma Dodd
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, Emma Dodd

A sweet, rhyming picture book about the special relationship between mother and child. With a gentle, rhyming story and lovely illustrations, this is a book to be loved, shared and treasured. The perfect gift for every family - whether for new Mothers, on Mother's Day, or indeed at any time of the year. From the author of picture book classic, Giraffes Can't Dance.'This sweet and heartwarming ditty, told in witty rhyme by Giles Andreae, has cosy, bright illustrations, and is filled with feel-good charm' - Junior magazineWinner of the Book Trust Early Years Award!