Alice Harman - Scotland - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Scotland

By Alice Harman

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

Follow the Fact Cat and discover the world,learning about a vast array of subjects on the way from space and science to ancient history and geography!

What is an Ulster Fry? Which famous sight is 50 million years old? How do you play Gaelic football?

Discover the answers to all of these questions and learn all about Northern Ireland and the people who live there. Explore the cities of Belfast, Londonderry and Armagh, and discover the traditional foods that people like to eat. See Northern Ireland's famous sights, including the fantastic Giant's Causeway, and find out about the tragic Titanic.

The Fact Cat series takes children at nursery age through to Key Stage 1 and above on a journey to discover the world around them, learning about a vast array of subjects on the way from space and science to ancient history and geography!

Biographical Notes

Alice Harman is an experienced author of books for children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750289283
  • Publication date: 25 Jun 2015
  • Page count: 24
  • Imprint: Wayland
Wren & Rook

Every Child A Song

Nicola Davies, Marc Martin
Contributors:
Nicola Davies, Marc Martin

When you were born, a song began...So begins this lyrical and unique non-fiction picture book by award-winning children's author Nicola Davies. With tenderness and a good deal of heart, Nicola introduces young readers to the universal rights that every child is entitled to under the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child. Using the metaphor of song, the book opens with the arrival of a newborn and its unique 'song', then pans out to explore all the essential things that every song needs to thrive - love, protection, a home, a name, the chance to explore and learn. In the latter half of the book, the issues of child labour, exploitation and war are sensitively introduced to emphasise that we all must play our part in championing children's rights and offering support to those who need it most. With beautiful and deeply moving watercolour illustrations by award-winning artist Marc Martin, this is a book that encourages children, and the adults in their lives, to speak up for young people all around the world, and to treat one another with compassion and kindness.

Franklin Watts

Human Rights

Alice Harman, David Broadbent
Contributors:
Alice Harman, David Broadbent

How can you be a good global citizen? By understanding the world we live in and how we can effect change. This book explores what human rights are, what happens when they are respected and when they are limited, for example losing your right to freedom if you commit a crime. The book looks at movements such as Black Lives Matter and at how we can all help to protect human rights through activation.The I'm a Global Citizen series explores the concept of 'Global Citizenship': recognising that the world we live in is unfair and unequal, but promoting individual and collective action to challenge and change this. Each book has information, fun activities, challenges, case studies and ideas for group and individual action presented with fun illustrations. The books promote the idea that we have power as individuals: each of us can change things, and each of us has choices about how we behave. They encourage children aged 8+ to counter ignorance and intolerance.

Wren & Rook

How Did I Get Here?

Wren & Rook

Does It Fart?

Nick Caruso, Dani Rabaiotti, Alex G. Griffiths
Contributors:
Nick Caruso, Dani Rabaiotti, Alex G. Griffiths
Orchard Books

Where's the Poo? A Pooptastic Search and Find Book

Dynamo
Contributors:
Dynamo

A group of poos has been flushed away and embarks on an epic, fun-filled adventure round the world!Search for six very special poos in every scene. From a trip to the aquarium and a day at the theme park, to a rainforest trek and a roller disco, there's so much to spot and find!

Franklin Watts

A Peaceful World

Alice Harman, David Broadbent
Contributors:
Alice Harman, David Broadbent
Hodder Children's Books

BOOT - small robot, BIG adventure

Shane Hegarty
Authors:
Shane Hegarty
Wayland

Lizards

Pat Jacobs
Authors:
Pat Jacobs

Whether they already own one, or beg for one each Christmas and birthday, children love pets, and Pet Pals is the perfect title for any pet-loving child out there. From where they sleep to what they eat, and how you can make them feel safe and at home, this book provides all the pet care advice you could possibly need. Adorable photos, and gentle, accessible text, makes this the perfect guide for all pet carers - whether they own a pet or not!

Wayland

Incredible Rainforests

Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost

Take a stroll through the rainforest! From squawking birds of paradise, to monkeys swinging through the trees and insects crawling along the forest floor, be amazed by the variety of life that lives in the rainforest.This beautifully illustrated picture book shows the glorious nature that lives in the rainforest. Find out about food chains and the web of life in the different canopies of the huge rainforest trees.'Look and Wonder' is a fresh, bold and bright, narrative non-fiction picture book series, for children aged 4 and up, introducing children to life cycles and the natural world. The eye-poppingly colourful digital illustration style will explain the scientific concepts while the light and fun text-style will make these books real home and classroom favourites.Other titles in the series:A Stroll Through the SeasonsA Wonderful World of WeatherIncredible RainforestsThe Amazing Butterfly Life Cycle StoryThe Amazing Plant Life Cycle StoryThe Awesome Night SkyThe Great Big Water Cycle Adventure

Wayland

Amazing Animal Babies

Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost

Find out about different animals and their babies, from caterpillars to butterflies, joeys to kangaroos and cubs to lions.This beautifully illustrated picture book shows the wonderful world of nature in all its glory.'Look and Wonder' is a fresh, bold and bright, non-fiction picture book series, for children aged 4 and up, introducing children to life cycles and the natural world. The eye-poppingly colourful digital illustration style will explain the scientific concepts while the light and fun text-style will make these books real home and classroom favourites.Other titles in the series:A Stroll Through the SeasonsA Wonderful World of WeatherIncredible RainforestsThe Amazing Butterfly Life Cycle StoryThe Amazing Plant Life Cycle StoryThe Awesome Night SkyThe Great Big Water Cycle Adventure

Orchard Books

Oscar the Hungry Unicorn

Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
Contributors:
Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson

A hilariously funny tale of friendship, belonging and LOTS OF EATING from the bestselling author of There Is No Dragon in This Story. Perfect for fans of Oi Frog.WITH SUPER SPARKLY GLITTER COVER!Oscar the Unicorn has eaten his stable so he needs to find somewhere else to live. Not easy if you're a unicorn who eats everything in sight ... No one wants him around: not the pirates or the fairies or the dragons. Will Oscar ever find a place to call home? Well, it just so happens that Princess Oola has been searching for a unicorn FOR EVER ...

Pat-a-Cake

Easy Phonics

Pat-a-Cake, Katie Woolley, Tom Heard
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Katie Woolley, Tom Heard
Wayland

The Wonderful World of Weather

Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost

Find out about the weather, from clouds and rain to snow and sleet and fog and hail. How does weather work and how does it affect people's lives.This beautifully illustrated picture book shows the glorious nature of our weather.'Look and Wonder' is a fresh, bold and bright, narrative non-fiction picture book series, for children aged 4 and up, introducing children to life cycles and the natural world. The eye-poppingly colourful digital illustration style will explain the scientific concepts while the light and fun text-style will make these books real home and classroom favourites.Other titles in the series:A Stroll Through the SeasonsA Wonderful World of WeatherIncredible RainforestsThe Amazing Butterfly Life Cycle StoryThe Amazing Plant Life Cycle StoryThe Awesome Night SkyThe Great Big Water Cycle Adventure

Wayland

The Awesome Night Sky

Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost

Look up into the night sky and learn all about constellations, shooting stars and satellites.This beautifully illustrated picture book shows the glorious night sky.'Look and Wonder' is a fresh, bold and bright, narrative non-fiction picture book series, for children aged 4 and up, introducing children to life cycles and the natural world. The eye-poppingly colourful digital illustration style will explain the scientific concepts while the light and fun text-style will make these books real home and classroom favourites.Other titles in the series:A Stroll Through the SeasonsA Wonderful World of WeatherIncredible RainforestsThe Amazing Butterfly Life Cycle StoryThe Amazing Plant Life Cycle StoryThe Awesome Night SkyThe Great Big Water Cycle Adventure

Wayland

Eating Well

Katie Woolley, Ryan Wheatcroft
Contributors:
Katie Woolley, Ryan Wheatcroft
Orchard Books

Frances the Royal Family Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

This cheerful and inviting Early Reader brings the blast of colour that Rainbow Magic's youngest fans have been waiting for!Frances the Royal Family Fairy makes sure all royal brothers and sisters get along well with each other. But when naughty Jack Frost steals her magical object, everything starts to fall apart! Can Kirsty and Rachel help Frances restore harmony in all royal families and their kingdoms?

Franklin Watts

When parents separate

Dawn Hewitt
Authors:
Dawn Hewitt
Orchard Books

Holly the Christmas Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

A beautiful full-colour adaptation of the beloved Rainbow Magic special, abridged for younger readers.The King and Queen of Fairyland are all in a fluster. Jack Frost is up to his old tricks and has kidnapped the Christmas elves. Without the elves to make the presents and decorate the trees, there won't be any Christmas this year. Can Rachel and Kirsty save the day, with a little help from Holly the Christmas Fairy?

Wayland

The Amazing Plant Life Cycle Story

Kay Barnham
Authors:
Kay Barnham
Wayland

With Everyday Things

Susie Brooks
Authors:
Susie Brooks

A collection of fun, simple, inexpensive craft projects, ideal for time-poor parents and budget-challenged schools, promoting reuse and recycling. Beautifully designed, the book is clearly and appealingly illustrated with step-by-step instructions and engaging artwork. Each activity is straightforward and achievable, and as such is therapeutic for stressed or anxious children, allowing them to make things by themselves, and to have confidence in their own abilities. Let's Make Art With Everyday Things shows you how to use object found lying around, from cardboard and coins to leaves and vegetables, to make ice-cream bunting, forky faces, pasta prints, a soapy solar system, leafy insects and much, much more. Techniques include printing, collage, making rubbings and paint-scraping - used in ingenious ways for fantastic results!Other titles in the series include Let's Make Art By Printing and Stamping, Let's Make Art with Hands and Feet and Let's Make Art with Scrap Paper, so there's a whole load of upcycling fun to be had!