Liz Gogerly - Dian Fossey - Hachette Children's Group

Dian Fossey

By Liz Gogerly

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Inspiring biography of Dian Fossey and her work among the gorillas in Rwanda.

As well as telling the story of Fossey's life from her childhood in California to her years as head of a major research project in Rwanda and her violent death, this book looks at the impact of her work on the wider world. The methods behind her unique insights into the lives of mountain gorillas and the similarities between them and human beings are explained, and quotes from Fossey and her contemporaries give a fascinating glimpse into this extraordinary woman's mind.

Biographical Notes

Liz Gogerly is a writer and editor of children's information books and a former teacher. She has worked on a wide variety of books and has a specialist knowledge of history and biographies.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750284769
  • Publication date: 25 Sep 2014
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Wayland
The book is well researched, well written and very detailed... Ideal for project work, perhaps for ages 13 to 15, it is recommended for the reference section of the school library. — School Librarian, Winter 2002
A superb series...These books would be excellent both for a library and for children and teachers to read as part of a science course. — TES
Franklin Watts

Puberty in Numbers

Liz Gogerly
Authors:
Liz Gogerly

This entertaining guide to puberty gives you all the information you need to know, but in a bright, colourful and fun way. Puberty need not be scary and unknown. Using bite-size text with attention-grabbing numbers and visuals, find out the facts and stats behind growing up, from how much extra hair you'll grow to how much taller you'll get. Written in a straightforward, down-to-earth approach, this book will give you all the information you need to understand and be reassured by any changes puberty throws at you.

Wren & Rook

Every Child A Song

Nicola Davies, Marc Martin
Contributors:
Nicola Davies, Marc Martin

When you were born, a song began...So begins this lyrical and unique non-fiction picture book by award-winning children's author Nicola Davies. With tenderness and a good deal of heart, Nicola introduces young readers to the universal rights that every child is entitled to under the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child. Using the metaphor of song, the book opens with the arrival of a newborn and its unique 'song', then pans out to explore all the essential things that every song needs to thrive - love, protection, a home, a name, the chance to explore and learn. In the latter half of the book, the issues of child labour, exploitation and war are sensitively introduced to emphasise that we all must play our part in championing children's rights and offering support to those who need it most. With beautiful and deeply moving watercolour illustrations by award-winning artist Marc Martin, this is a book that encourages children, and the adults in their lives, to speak up for young people all around the world, and to treat one another with compassion and kindness.

Franklin Watts

Rainforest

Liz Gogerly, Rob Hunt, Oivind Hovland
Contributors:
Liz Gogerly, Rob Hunt, Oivind Hovland
Franklin Watts

Dinosaurs

Liz Gogerly, Rob Hunt, Oivind Hovland
Contributors:
Liz Gogerly, Rob Hunt, Oivind Hovland

Prepare to take a chronological journey, from over 200 million years ago, when tiny Saltopus hopped around in search of food, and pterosaurs took to the skies, through to huge dinosaurs such as Brachiosaurus and Allosaurus of the late Jurassic Period. Travel right up to the mass extinction event of the Cretaceous Period, which wiped out three quarters of all life on the planet...Perfect for readers aged 7+ who want to find out more about the time of the dinosaurs, and their evolution over millions of years.

Wren & Rook

Turn Off, Live On

Vincent Vincent
Authors:
Vincent Vincent
Hodder Children's Books

Toto the Ninja Cat and the Incredible Cheese Heist

Dermot O’Leary, Nick East
Contributors:
Dermot O’Leary, Nick East
Wren & Rook

The World of the Whale

Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward
Contributors:
Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward

Dive into the underwater world of whales and dolphins in this entrancing illustrated guide. Graceful and serene, intelligent and social, the whale is a wonder of the deep blue sea. And yet, whales rely on air to breathe - they are mammals, just like us.With breathtaking text, Smriti Prasadam-Halls explores the migrations, songs and family life of these mysterious creatures, and reveals the dangers they face from plastic, pollution and hunting. Wildlife illustrator Jonathan Woodward brings the marine world to life with stunning papercut collage artwork. An astonishing follow-up to the English 4-11 Award-winning book The Ways of the Wolf, which is also shortlisted for the SLA Award.'The expressive writing and the colourful, original artwork depict the lives of whales perfectly. Perceptively illustrating their strong social nature and intelligence, this beautiful book also explores the dangers faced by these incredible creatures and the need for us to work together to protect them.' - Whale & Dolphin Conservation

Franklin Watts

Go Green!

Liz Gogerly, Miguel Sanchez
Contributors:
Liz Gogerly, Miguel Sanchez
Franklin Watts

China

Liz Gogerly, Rob Hunt
Authors:
Liz Gogerly, Rob Hunt
Franklin Watts

Kenya

Liz Gogerly
Authors:
Liz Gogerly
Hodder Children's Books

Illegal

Eoin Colfer, Andrew Donkin, Giovanni Rigano
Contributors:
Eoin Colfer, Andrew Donkin, Giovanni Rigano
Wayland

Eating Well

Katie Woolley, Ryan Wheatcroft
Contributors:
Katie Woolley, Ryan Wheatcroft

Why should I eat fruit and vegetables? What's wrong with chocolate and crisps? What are proteins and carbohydrates? The answers to these and many other questions about healthy eating can be discovered in this lively and informative series. The topic of healthy eating is complemented by charming and humorous illustrations. This book is designed for children to begin to learn about the importance of being healthy, and the ways in which we can look after our bodies to keep fit and well. At the back are notes for parents and teachers that provide additional advice and support as well as further activity ideas and information.These titles support the science curriculum at Key Stage One and Key Stage 2, as well as PSHCE topics.The Healthy Me series is aimed at children aged from 5 and up to explain how people can keep fit and be healthy, forming habits that will last a life time. Other titles in the series are: Exercise and Play, Keeping Clean, Keeping Safe, Taking Medicines, Resting and Sleeping.

Hodder Children's Books

Toto the Ninja Cat and the Great Snake Escape

Dermot O’Leary, Nick East
Contributors:
Dermot O’Leary, Nick East
Wayland

The Amazing Life Cycle of Butterflies

Kay Barnham
Authors:
Kay Barnham
Wayland

The Amazing Plant Life Cycle Story

Kay Barnham
Authors:
Kay Barnham

Dig deep and explore the incredible plant life cycle story. From tiny seeds to small shoots, long branches and mighty tree trunks, explore the life cycle of plants and find out what plants need to help them grow.Follow the journey of a young boy and girl as they find out about how plants grow. This beautifully illustrated picture book explains why insects are important to plants, how seeds travel and why plants are important to us all. 'Look and Wonder' is a fresh, bold and bright, narrative non-fiction picture book series, for children aged 4 and up, introducing children to life cycles and the natural world. The eye-poppingly colourful digital illustration style will explain the scientific concepts while the light and fun text-style will make these books real home and classroom favourites.Perfect for the EYFS and KS1 primary curriculum study of life cycles.Other titles in the series:A Stroll Through the SeasonsA Wonderful World of WeatherIncredible RainforestsThe Amazing Butterfly Life Cycle StoryThe Amazing Plant Life Cycle StoryThe Awesome Night SkyThe Great Big Water Cycle Adventure

Franklin Watts

Brazil

Liz Gogerly, Rob Hunt
Authors:
Liz Gogerly, Rob Hunt

Journey Through Brazil offers a look at the landscape, culture and people of Brazil, from the exciting buzz of Rio, through the amazing Amazon rainforests to the wave-pounded Atlantic coast. There's so much more to Brazil than carnivals, football and the Amazon and this book will let you delve into this richly cultural and exciting county in South America!Journey Through offers young readers the chance to take a trip through exciting world countries using different modes of transport, from train and car to bicycle and private jet. Along the way the traveller visits highlighted places both well known and less known, and learns lots of exciting facts about history, language, culture and much more.

Franklin Watts

The USA

Liz Gogerly, Rob Hunt
Authors:
Liz Gogerly, Rob Hunt

Journey Through the USA offers a look at the landscape, culture and people of the United States, from the exciting buzz of New York, along the Appalachian Trail through many of the states along it's route, via Chicago and the Great Lakes, through the southern states and cowboy country to the sunshine and surf of California and Hawaii.Journey Through offers young readers the chance to take a trip through exciting world countries using different modes of transport, from train and car to bicycle and private jet. Along the way the traveller visits highlighted places both well known and less known, and learns lots of exciting facts about history, language, culture and much more.

Orchard Books

The Ethan I Was Before

Ali Standish
Authors:
Ali Standish

My dare. My friend. My fault. Uplifting and unpredictable, this poignant debut middle-grade novel is a classic in the making. Perfect for fans of Wonder and A Boy Called Hope.Ethan had been many things. He was always ready for adventure and always willing to accept a dare, especially from his best friend, Kacey. But that was before. Before the accident that took Kacey from him. Before his family moved from the city he loves to a tiny town in the middle of nowhere. Ethan's new home feels like the place for second chances. It's also home to Coralee, a girl with a big personality and even bigger stories. Coralee may be just the friend Ethan needs, except Ethan isn't the only one with secrets. Coralee's are catching up with her, and what she's hiding might be putting both their lives at risk. The Ethan I Was Before is a story of friendship, wonder, adventure and ultimately of hope.

Wayland

A Stroll Through the Seasons

Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost
Franklin Watts

A Royal Childhood: 200 Years of Royal Babies

Liz Gogerly
Authors:
Liz Gogerly