Peter Hepplewhite - The Fact or Fiction Behind the Romans - Hachette Children's Group

The Fact or Fiction Behind the Romans

By Peter Hepplewhite

  • Hardback
  • £8.99

Truth or Busted explores the fact or fiction behind stuff you THINK you know!

Truth or Busted's Romans title explores popular myths and legends about one of history's most fascinating periods in a tongue-in-cheek, humorous way that kids will find unputdownable! Alongside features such as 'Rampaging Romans' in which we learn about some of the Romans' greatest conquests, Truth or Busted statements such as 'Gladiators trained on a diet of raw meat' or 'The Romans celebrated Valentine's Day with goat skin whips' are explored. We look at where the idea came from, whether it has any basis in truth, or whether they can be consigned to folklore. Finally, each statement is given a TRUTH or BUSTED evaluation!

A must for anyone interested in the Romans, or studying history at school!

Biographical Notes

Peter Hepplewhite is an experienced writer of children's history and has taught the subject for many years. He is currently the Education Officer for Tyne & Wear Archives Service.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750281348
  • Publication date: 25 Sep 2014
  • Page count: 96
  • Imprint: Wayland
This is just the sort of book children love! Filled with all sorts of weird and wonderful facts — Parents In Touch
Franklin Watts

Natural Resources

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

A powerful look at the biggest environmental issues facing our generationEarth's growing population is putting an unprecedented strain on our rich natural resources, from water and wood, to fossil fuels and wildlife. Can we reduce and manage our demand before it becomes too late? Our Earth is facing huge environmental challenges, from plastic pollution choking our oceans to critical loss of biodiversity. Ecographics aims to raise young readers' awareness of these challenges with the latest headline-grabbing facts and stats, pertinent case studies and powerful photos.Important reading for children aged 8 and up.

Franklin Watts

Hidden Talent

Cath Jones, Anne Defreville
Contributors:
Cath Jones, Anne Defreville

It's the school talent show, and a famous celebrity is coming to judge. Max's friends are excited and long to take part, but Max feels far too shy. Friendship and understanding help her work through and ultimately overcome her anxiety.This first colour chapter book is a perfectly levelled, accessible text for Key stage 2 readers aged 9-10. Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and activities to provoke deeper response and encourage writing. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Our New Baby

Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean
Contributors:
Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean
Franklin Watts

When People Die

Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean
Contributors:
Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean
Franklin Watts

The Blitz Baby

Damian Harvey, Nicolas Hitori De
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, Nicolas Hitori De

During a bombing of Plymouth in World War 2, a German plane is shot down near Jenny and Thomas's house. They long to investigate, but they hear something and decide to investigate first. They are soon in grave danger, needing help from the last source they would expect.This first colour chapter book is a perfectly levelled, accessible text for Key stage 2 readers aged 9-10. Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and activities to provoke deeper response and encourage writing. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Hasan's Idea

Jill Atkins, José Rubert
Contributors:
Jill Atkins, José Rubert
Franklin Watts

Insects, Bugs and Other Invertebrates

Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas
Contributors:
Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas

A fascinating insight in to some of the incredible invertebrates that lived on Earth millions of years ago. Hundreds of millions of years before humans had evolved, our planet was already teeming with life. In prehistoric oceans, stony deserts, warm swamps and vast grasslands, there lived an incredible variety of plants and animals.Invertebrates made up a huge number of Earth's life forms. Among them, giant sea scorpions as big as a lion terrorised the oceans, enormous millipedes fed on plants in dense Carboniferous forests and tiny wasps preyed on cockroach larvae in lush tropical regions.Delve into Prehistoric Life and discover some astounding insects, bugs and other invertebrates that once lived on Earth. This stunningly illustrated series looks at life in the prehistoric era, focusing not just on dinosaurs, but looking at the world as a whole. The prehistoric era is absolutely fascinating for children and adults alike, and is useful for schools studying history chronologically. Amazingly detailed and accurate illustrations bring the prehistoric era to life. Engaging reading for children aged 7+.Prehistoric Life is a series of four books:Mammals, Birds and other VertebratesInsects, Bugs and other InvertebratesPlantsDinosaurs

Wayland

The Energy We Use

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw

What are the problems and challenges we face around the world when it comes to the energy we use? How can we make the most of renewable energy sources and find alternative forms of fuel? Interactive 'Solve It!' design challenges give readers the information they need to develop sustainable solutions to the problems discussed, and step-by-step 'Test It!' activities encourage them to explore putting principles into practice.

Wayland

The Stuff We Buy

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Franklin Watts

My Stepfamily

Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean
Contributors:
Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean
Franklin Watts

My Parents' Divorce

Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean
Contributors:
Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean
Franklin Watts

Understanding Sexuality

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

This book looks at the issues around sexuality - what it means, being lesbian, gay or bisexual, coming out, homophobia and accepting yourself and being happy in your own skin. It includes talking and debating points and is perfect for someone starting to question their sexuality or for PSHE lessons.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.

Franklin Watts

Mountains

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Orchard Books

The Ethan I Was Before

Ali Standish
Authors:
Ali Standish

My dare. My friend. My fault. Uplifting and unpredictable, this poignant debut middle-grade novel is a classic in the making. Perfect for fans of Wonder and A Boy Called Hope.Ethan had been many things. He was always ready for adventure and always willing to accept a dare, especially from his best friend, Kacey. But that was before. Before the accident that took Kacey from him. Before his family moved from the city he loves to a tiny town in the middle of nowhere. Ethan's new home feels like the place for second chances. It's also home to Coralee, a girl with a big personality and even bigger stories. Coralee may be just the friend Ethan needs, except Ethan isn't the only one with secrets. Coralee's are catching up with her, and what she's hiding might be putting both their lives at risk. The Ethan I Was Before is a story of friendship, wonder, adventure and ultimately of hope.

Wayland

Royals, Rebels and Horrible Headchoppers

Peter Hepplewhite, Tom Morgan-Jones
Contributors:
Peter Hepplewhite, Tom Morgan-Jones

Welcome to the world of the terrible Tudors! Grab a galleon and sail back in time with us to discover everything about the terrifying Tudors: from horrible King Henry and the perilous plague to roasting the religious. Why did doctors wear beak masks? Why were cats buried under Tudor homes? What did Tudor tennis involve? Dip into these annals of Tudor times and find out the answers to all these intriguing imponderables and many more...

Orchard Books

Torno the Hurricane Dragon

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Wayland

The Industrial Revolution

Peter Hepplewhite
Authors:
Peter Hepplewhite

The book offers a chronological political history of the Industrial Revolution, as well as chapters on the major themes. Topics include developments in technology, the factory system and working life for men, women and children, education in factories and schools, the growth of industrial towns, and the effects of the Industrial Revolution on the military, ships and seafaring, rail travel, holidays and on local communities.Easy to navigate, each spread deals with a different topic and consists of maps, diagrams, artwork and photographs. Complete with timeline, glossary and 2-page index.

Wayland

Ancient Egypt

Rachel Minay
Authors:
Rachel Minay

History Detective Investigates: Ancient Egypt is a hands-on, investigative approach to history. Learn all about Ancient Egypt, its people and the story of ancient Egypt that goes back some 4,000 years. Who were the Ancient Egyptians? Ancient Egypt has a remarkable history. Discover the mysteries of the pyramids, why the Egyptians mummified their people and the gods and goddesses that ruled their way of life. It tells the story of many great kings and pharaohs, such as Tutankhamen and Cleopatra. See how the hieroglyphs offer an insight into the daily life of the Egyptian people and how the Rosetta Stone helped unravel the secrets of the hieroglyphs. Why did the ancient Egyptians rely so heavily on the river Nile. Egypt is set in the middle of the desert so Egypt depended on the Nile for food, transportation and water. Contains maps, paintings, artefacts and photographs to show how the Egyptians lived. Ideally suited for readers age 8+ or teachers who are looking for books to support the new curriculum for 2014. If you enjoy reading about the Ancient Egyptians then take a look at Stone Age to Iron Age, The Mayan Civilization, The Shang Dynasty of Ancient China and Early Islamic Civilizations.

Orchard Books

Plexor the Raging Reptile

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Franklin Watts

Knights

Peter Hepplewhite
Authors:
Peter Hepplewhite