Evelyn Foster - Tiddlers: Alan and the Animals - Hachette Children's Group

Tiddlers: Alan and the Animals

By Evelyn Foster
Illustrated by Richard Morgan

  • Paperback
  • £3.99

First stories with a word count of fewer than 50 words for emergent readers.

Alan loves animals - he loves bats! He has ten rats and ten wild cats. But where does he keep them all? Find out in this rhyming story.

The Tiddlers series features fun stories with a word count of fewer than 50 words for children who are just starting to read.
A word list at the start of the book allows you to check the child's ability to decode and understand each word before reading, providing a fully supported first reading experience. And a puzzle at the end of the story encourages rereading for pleasure.

Biographical Notes

Evelyn Foster has worked as an actor and storyteller specialising in folklore and fairytale. She has run workshops on myth at the British Museum including spooky sleep-overs next to the Egyptian mummies !
She has also done drama with disabled children and voice and
confidence coaching with teenagers. She has read to the blind,
produced columns for magazines and judged writing competitions in care homes. She has played good Shakesperean heroines, evil enchantresses ... and quite a lot of fairy godmothers !
Her stories, some original fairytales and some re-tellings, are mostly about mermaids and giants. They are designed to give children a love of reading and a passion for the past - as well as hope for the future. She has not yet seen either a mermaid or a giant - but she lives in hope!

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780749693961
  • Publication date: 10 Feb 2011
  • Page count: 24
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Orchard Books

Padma the Pirate Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Kirsty, Rachel and Padma for some perilous pirate fun!Padma the Pirate Fairy is here to take Kirsty and Rachel on a wild adventure! The two best friends must hold on to their hats as they set off on a rollicking journey to defeat dastardly Jack Frost and his goblins.

Franklin Watts

Anansi and the Box of Stories

Katie Dale, Valentina Bandera
Contributors:
Katie Dale, Valentina Bandera
Hodder Children's Books

Hugless Douglas and the Baby Birds

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling
Orchard Books

Ivy the Worry Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Hodder Children's Books

Little Tigers

Jo Weaver
Authors:
Jo Weaver

Mother Tiger and her two cubs journey through their jungle habitat, searching high and low for the perfect new home where they will be safe. A beautifully illustrated celebration of the love between parent and child and the wonders of the natural world. With its mesmerising, atmospheric charcoal drawings and lyrical storytelling, Jo Weaver's new picture book has the feel of an instant classic. Perfect for fans of BBC's Planet Earth.Jo Weaver was shortlisted for the AOI Illustration New Talent Awards.

Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of Happy

Laura Baker, Angie Rozelaar
Contributors:
Laura Baker, Angie Rozelaar

A beautiful exploration of feelings shown through colour as one little boy navigates a range of emotions - from happiness and excitement to hope and love, all on his way to present a gift to his mum.Blue is for the calm I feel wandering in the spring.Yellow is for happy when I spot a special thing.This book is the perfect introduction to both emotions and colours.

Orchard Books

Happy to Be Me

Emma Dodd
Authors:
Emma Dodd
Hodder Children's Books

Knock Knock Alien

Caryl Hart, Nick East
Contributors:
Caryl Hart, Nick East

Aliens at the door can only mean trouble in this hilarious rhyming counting book that is out of this world! A little girl is in for an interstellar adventure when the noisy space invaders hijack her house to get home. Can she get back down to Earth - without waking Gran?!The follow-up to the hilarious Knock Knock Dinosaur and Knock Knock Pirate - from award-winning author Caryl Hart, creator of Supermarket Zoo, and bestselling illustrator Nick East.

Hodder Children's Books

Kipper: The Blue Balloon

Mick Inkpen
Authors:
Mick Inkpen
Hodder Children's Books

Amazing

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony

A joyful new picture book by the award-winning Steve Antony, creator of the bestselling Please Mr Panda.A little boy and his pet dragon are the very best of friends. They laugh, they sing, they dance, they snooze. They are both amazing - just like everyone else!A celebration of friendship and being yourself with a positive message about celebrating diversity. The perfect platform to start conversations about the importance of understanding and acceptance. Steve Antony is the winner of the Oscar's First Book Prize and has been nominated for the Kate Greenaway Medal and shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize.

Hodder Children's Books

Everybunny Dream

Ellie Sandall
Authors:
Ellie Sandall

A delightful bedtime routine - perfect for snuggling up and sharing.Cuddle up and snuggle tight.Close your eyes and say goodnight.A cosy group,A peaceful scene...EVERYBUNNY DREAM!Also look out for: Everybunny Dance and Everybunny Count!Praise for Follow Me: 'Lyrically written, Follow Me has a mesmeric quality that leaves you wanting to enjoy multiple consecutive readings. A real gem.' - Huffington PostFollow Ellie on Twitter at @elliesandall

Orchard Books

Cinderella

Ursula Jones, Jessica Courtney Tickle
Contributors:
Ursula Jones, Jessica Courtney Tickle
Hodder Children's Books

Knock Knock Pirate

Caryl Hart, Nick East
Contributors:
Caryl Hart, Nick East

A rhyming pirate counting book with a difference - the follow up to the hilarious Knock Knock Dinosaur - from award-winning author Caryl Hart, creator of How to Grow a Dinosaur, and bestselling illustrator Nick East.A visit from a pirate might sound like fun . . . but when the Captain's whole crew turn up too - causing mayhem and chaos - it's time for this little girl to panic. What is Dad going to say when he gets home?!Caryl Hart has won the Stockport Children's Book Award, the Oldham Brilliant Books Award, the Rotherham Children's Book Award, and has been shortlisted for the Red House Children's Book Award.Follow Caryl at carylhart.com and @carylhart1 Find Nick at nickeastillustration.com

Hodder Children's Books

Goodnight, Mr Panda

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony

'An ideal book for kids to learn about the importance of good manners.' Sun 'There's a new pre-school politeness tsar in town.' The Times Mr Panda and his friends are getting ready for bed. But some won't brush their teeth, others won't have a bath, and one won't even wear pyjamas! It's down to Mr Panda to show them how to do bedtime properly. Steve Antony's Mr Panda has taken the children's book world by storm, selling over 600,000 copies since it was first published.

Hodder Children's Books

Santa Claude

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith

A festive romp for Claude and Sir Bobblysock in the ninth volume of the hit series, which is due to hit TV screens in 2018.Claude and Sir Bobblysock think they've caught a burglar coming down the chimney on Christmas Eve. They clap on the handcuffs and turn on the lights. Oh no! It isn't a burglar - it's none other than Santa Claus! Now the key for the handcuffs is lost and it's up to our two heros to deliver all the presents before midnight...Claude Going for Gold won the fiction 5-9 category in the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award. Claude has also been selected for the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize and the Richard and Judy Book Club. Claude is soon to be a TV star on Disney Junior with a brand new show due to air in 2018. Alex T. Smith was the World Book Day Illustrator 2014.Praise for Claude: '...illustrated with humour and elegance...' The TimesFollow the author at http://www.alextsmith.com/ and http://twitter.com/Alex_T_Smith

Orchard Books

Alola Adventure

Gotta Catch 'Em All! A fantastic full-colour early reader that Pokémon's youngest fans have been waiting for!Ash and his mum are on holiday in the Alola region, along with Pikachu and Mimey, and having a great time. Join Ash for a new adventure, exciting challenges and of course - more Pokémon battles!

Pat-a-Cake

First Writing

Pat-a-Cake, Becky Down
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Becky Down
Orchard Books

Magical Story Collection

Orchard Books

My A to Z of Fairies

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Cannibal Curse

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

The final collection of four brand new utterly horrid stories; Horrid Henry's Bake-Off sees Henry and Margaret go head-to-head in a hotly contested baking competition, Henry triumphantly reveals his top tips in Horrid Henry's Extra Horrid Guide to Perfect Parents, he reads an interesting book about Evil Evie, a really naughty girl not too dissimilar to himself in Horrid Henry's Bad Book, and conjures up an ancient cannibal's curse to deal with his enemies and small, annoying brother in Horrid Henry's Cannibal Curse.Horrid Henry is illustrated by Tony Ross, who also illustrates David Walliams' children's books, as well as his own picture books.