Evelyn Foster - Tiddlers: Alan and the Animals - Hachette Children's Group

Tiddlers: Alan and the Animals

By Evelyn Foster
Illustrated by Richard Morgan

  • Paperback
  • £3.99

First stories with a word count of fewer than 50 words for emergent readers.

Alan loves animals - he loves bats! He has ten rats and ten wild cats. But where does he keep them all? Find out in this rhyming story.

The Tiddlers series features fun stories with a word count of fewer than 50 words for children who are just starting to read.
A word list at the start of the book allows you to check the child's ability to decode and understand each word before reading, providing a fully supported first reading experience. And a puzzle at the end of the story encourages rereading for pleasure.

Biographical Notes

Evelyn Foster has worked as an actor and storyteller specialising in folklore and fairytale. She has run workshops on myth at the British Museum including spooky sleep-overs next to the Egyptian mummies !
She has also done drama with disabled children and voice and
confidence coaching with teenagers. She has read to the blind,
produced columns for magazines and judged writing competitions in care homes. She has played good Shakesperean heroines, evil enchantresses ... and quite a lot of fairy godmothers !
Her stories, some original fairytales and some re-tellings, are mostly about mermaids and giants. They are designed to give children a love of reading and a passion for the past - as well as hope for the future. She has not yet seen either a mermaid or a giant - but she lives in hope!

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780749693961
  • Publication date: 10 Feb 2011
  • Page count: 24
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Orchard Books

Ten Little Aliens

Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty
Contributors:
Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty

Learn to count from ten to one and back again with this rhythmic, rhyming space adventure!Don't miss the latest book in the bestselling Ten Little series. Join the Ten Little Aliens as they jet off through space in search of a new home - discovering fiery planets, fizzing comets and some very strange space creatures!Ten Little Aliens need a place to stay. Searching through the universe, home is far away. Look - a sun with planets! Should they take a peep? Ten Little Aliens all say, "SQUEEP!"Look out for the other books in the bestselling, award-winning Ten Little series:Ten Little PiratesTen Little PrincessesTen Little MonstersTen Little DinosaursTen Little ElvesTen Little SuperheroesTen Little RobotsPraise for the other Ten Little books:'a rollicking read with an easy rhythm and jaunty illustrations...excellent' Guardian'jaunty verse with lots of humorous details to discover on every page' Time Out'roaringly funny rhymes' Independent

Hodder Children's Books

A Bite in the Night

Julian Gough, Jim Field
Contributors:
Julian Gough, Jim Field

Gorgeously illustrated and with a classic feel, this is a brilliantly funny story of a rabbit and a bear who discover that things are always better when they're shared with a friend. Ideal for readers moving on from picture books. 'A perfect animal double-act.' (The Times, Book of the Week)Rabbit is surprised: some of the trees in the valley seem to be flying south for the winter. His friend Bear is sure that trees can't fly.Then there's a loud CRUNCH! from Very Near By. It sounds like the world's largest rabbit, eating the world's largest carrot. There's a new creature in Rabbit and Bear's valley, and he's trying to Change Everything. From novelist and playwright Julian Gough, and the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, Jim Field, this is a tale of friendship, Progess, and all kinds of getting muddy.'Rabbit's Bad Habits is a breath of fresh air in children's fiction, a laugh-out-loud story of rabbit and wolf and bear, of avalanches and snowmen. The sort of story that makes you want to send your children to bed early, so you can read it to them.' Neil Gaiman

Orchard Books

Adventure Duck vs the Armadillo Army

Steve Cole, Aleksei Bitskoff
Contributors:
Steve Cole, Aleksei Bitskoff

Hodder Children's Books

Hello Moon

Francesca Simon
Authors:
Francesca Simon

A magical bedtime story about a little boy who makes friends with the moon, from the author of Horrid Henry and the illustrator behind Aliens Love Underpants. When a little boy decides to talk to the moon at bedtime, his questions are seemingly endless. He wants to know all about the moon and how far it can see - from the sky-topped mountains, to the very bottom of the sea, where the mermaids swim. Does the moon have a bouncy bed? Does it like eating chocolate ice-cream? And does the moon feel lonely sometimes?Perfect for sharing at bedtime, this dreamy, thoughtful story touches on themes of friendship and kindness.Previously published as Do You Speak English Moon?

Orchard Books

Glitterhoof's Secret Garden

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Sparklesplash and the Mermaid Adventure

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

The Little Mermaid

Geraldine McCaughrean, Hans Christian Andersen, Laura Barrett
Contributors:
Geraldine McCaughrean, Hans Christian Andersen, Laura Barrett
Wren & Rook

How Did I Get Here?

This is the unathorised biography of you. Charting your incredible journey from Big Bang to birth (in about the time it takes to eat your breakfast), Philip Bunting's hilarious and one of a kind history of evolution was created to raise more questions than it answers. Perfect for fans of Jon Klassen and Chris Haughton.

Wren & Rook

A Planet Full of Plastic

Neal Layton
Authors:
Neal Layton

Everything is made of stuff. Some things are made of paper, like this book. And some things are made of PLASTIC. If you look around you, plastic is everywhere. Even in places where it's not meant to be. If it drops to the ground, it doesn't rot away - it sticks around for ever.Our world is drowning in plastic, and it's a big problem. Award-winning author-illustrator Neal Layton is here to explain where plastic comes from, why it doesn't biodegrade, and why that's dangerous for animals and humans alike. But he's also FULL of ideas for how you can help! From giving up straws in juice cartons to recycling all we can and taking part in a beach clean, A Planet Full of Plastic will get young readers excited about how they can make a difference to keep Planet Earth happy.This brilliant non-fiction picture book, illustrated in Neal's trademark collage style, is perfect for readers aged 5-7 who love nature and want to help the environment.

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Epic Sticker Book

Read all about the Pokémon of Alola then add your stickers to complete the Pokédex. Plus, there are lots of fun activities with Ash and Pikachu and over 1,000 stickers!

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry: Up, Up and Away

Francesca Simon
Authors:
Francesca Simon

Number One for fiendish fun!Four brand-new, wickedly funny and totally brilliant stories featuring the inimitable Horrid Henry! Contains four stories:Horrid Henry: Up, Up and AwayHorrid Henry Changes HistoryHorrid Henry Steals the ShowHorrid Henry and the Zoom of Doom Illustrated by Tony Ross, these timeless stories offer an irresistible introduction to reading for pleasure, featuring one of the best-loved characters in children's fiction.

Hodder Children's Books

Amazing

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony
Orchard Books

Monica the Marshmallow Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty on their sweetest-ever fairy adventure!Kirsty and Rachel are delighted to be invited to Fairyland for the annual Candy Harvest. But when Monica the Marshmallow Fairy's magical object goes missing, they find themselves in a sticky situation! Can the girls defeat Jack Frost in time to save the Fairyland Sweet Factory from a bitter end?

Hodder Children's Books

The Pest in the Nest

Julian Gough, Jim Field
Contributors:
Julian Gough, Jim Field

Gorgeously illustrated and with a classic feel, this is a brilliantly funny story of a rabbit and a bear who discover that things are always better when they're shared with a friend. Ideal for readers moving on from picture books.'A perfect animal double-act.' (The Times, Book of the Week)'PEACE AND QUIET,' shouts Rabbit. 'THAT'S ALL I WANT.'Owch. He's hurt his own ears again.What with Bear's snoring, and a BANG!BANG!BANG! noise from up in the tree, Rabbit knows that Something Simply Has To Be Done.But high in the branches, perhaps Bear can show Rabbit how to see the world from a different place ...From novelist and playwright Julian Gough, and the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, Jim Field, this is a tale of friendship, wisdom, and how to be REALLY NOISY.'Rabbit's Bad Habits is a breath of fresh air in children's fiction, a laugh-out-loud story of rabbit and wolf and bear, of avalanches and snowmen. The sort of story that makes you want to send your children to bed early, so you can read it to them.' Neil Gaiman*Shortlisted for the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award and the Children's Book of the Year in the Irish Book Awards*

Wayland

You are Stardust

Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim
Contributors:
Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim
Orchard Books

Tiana the Toy Fairy: The Land of Sweets

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Another brand-new Rainbow Magic story featuring YouTube star Tiana from Toys AndMe!Join Kirsty and Rachel for another adventure with Tiana the Toy Fairy! When Jack Frost steals Tiana's magical candy key, the magical Land of Sweets is under threat. Can the three friends get it back before Fairyland turns sour?

Orion Children's Books

The Loch Ness Monster Spotters

Tony De Saulles
Authors:
Tony De Saulles
Orchard Books

Molly Twinkletail

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

The much-loved series from the creator of Rainbow Magic - abridged for younger readers and illustrated in full colour!Welcome to a magical world where animals talk and play - just like you and me!Best friends Jess and Lily love all animals. But when they follow a mysterious golden cat into Friendship Forest - a place where animals live in tiny cottages and sip dandelion tea at the Toadstool Cafe - their animal friends suddenly become much more magical!On their second adventure, Lily and Jess are invited to the Friendship Forest fair! But Grizelda the witch wants to spoil everyone's fun and her servants, the Boggits, trick little Molly Twinkletail into running away from the party. It's up to the girls to find her - but where in Friendship Forest would a tiny mouse hide?

Orchard Books

Lucy Longwhiskers

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Welcome to a magical world where animals talk and play - just like you and me!Best friends Jess and Lily love all animals. But when they follow a mysterious golden cat into Friendship Forest - a place where animals live in tiny cottages and sip dandelion tea at the Toadstool Cafe - their animal friends suddenly become much more magical!On their first adventure in Friendship Forest, can the two friends rescue adorable baby bunny Lucy Longwhiskers from the wicked witch Grizelda?

Orchard Books

Fern the Green Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

When Rachel and Kirsty meet on the ferry to Rainspell Island one summer holiday, they have no idea that such magical adventures with the fairies await them! Join Rachel and Kirsty as they search a secret garden and a magical maze to try to find Fern the Green Fairy.