Jacqui Bailey - Discover London! - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Discover London!

By Jacqui Bailey
Illustrated by Jan Mccafferty

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

This popular London guide has been fully updated for the 2012 Olympics. A lavishly illustrated and comprehensive guide to England's capital city - one of the greatest cities on Earth!

This popular London guide has been fully updated for the 2012 Olympics. A lavishly illustrated and comprehensive guide to England's capital city for children - giving its history and geography and recommending the best places to visit from Royal Palaces and parks to museums and galleries. Packed with suggestions for fun days out and making the most of a family visit to London. Including plenty of practical advice, such as addresses and websites of London's top attractions, alongside handy transport guides, this is a great gift for children aged 8 upwards, before or after a visit to London.

Biographical Notes

Jacqui Bailey is a freelance writer and editor, and the mother of two teenage children.
She lives in south-west London.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780749664053
  • Publication date: 13 Mar 2008
  • Page count: 64
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Fiction: Power Up Psyduck

Join Ash and friends for another action-packed Pokémon adventure!Psyduck's powers can blow Team Rocket out of the water, but it isn't the easiest Pokémon to look after... Join the Pokémon-masters-in-training as they learn all about Psyduck's unique history, from when he first met Misty to his latest challenge - a battle like no other.

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Fiction: The Winner's Cup

Orion Children's Books

Return to Rome

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

Fourth in a new historical adventure series from million copy selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.From the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Hounds and Hauntings

Janine Beacham
Authors:
Janine Beacham

The Clockwork Sparrow meets Downton Abbey -- another exciting Rose Raventhorpe mystery set in Victorian England.

Hodder Children's Books

Return to the City of Ghosts

Julian Sedgwick
Authors:
Julian Sedgwick

Ruby's stunning adventure reaches a thrilling conclusion in this powerful story for fans of Philip Pullman, Susan Hill and Robin Stevens.11-year-old Ruby is on a mission to rescue her best friend Fei, who has been kidnapped by dark forces at the heart of Shanghai: but the world she lives in is driven with danger and fear, and since the death of her brother, Ruby has had a new problem - she can see ghosts. On an amazing journey down the Yangtze, and in and out of the Otherworld, Ruby must find her friend, before she loses herself...

Orchard Books

Fight for the Hidden City

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade - with amazing comic-book style illustrations. Welcome to Hero Academy! Join Jack and your other new classmates at this secret school, where the lessons are more exciting than Maths and PE. When a portal from the evil underground realm of Noxx is discovered beneath the school, Team Hero needs your powers. The next invasion is upon us ...There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Book 1: Fight for the Hidden City, Book 2: Scorpion Strike, Book 3: Falcon of Fury, Book 4: Rise of the Shadow SnakesAnd don't forget Adam Blade's other series: Beast Quest and Sea Quest

Orchard Books

Scorpion Strike

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade - with amazing comic-book style illustrations. Welcome to Hero Academy! Join Jack and your other new classmates at this secret school, where the lessons are more exciting than Maths and PE. When a portal from the evil underground realm of Noxx is discovered beneath the school, Team Hero needs your powers. The next invasion is upon us ...There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Book 1: Fight for the Hidden City, Book 2: Scorpion Strike, Book 3: Falcon of Fury, Book 4: Rise of the Shadow SnakesAnd don't forget Adam Blade's other series: Beast Quest and Sea Quest

Orchard Books

Falcon of Fury

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Wayland

Sea and Sky Monsters

Katie Woolley
Authors:
Katie Woolley
Orchard Books

Rise of the Shadow Snakes

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Hodder Children's Books

Movie Night

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay
Orion Children's Books

Silent Enemy and The Walk of Death

Jan Burchett, Sara Vogler
Authors:
Jan Burchett, Sara Vogler
Wren & Rook

Rebel Voices

Louise K Stewart, Eve Lloyd Knight
Contributors:
Louise K Stewart, Eve Lloyd Knight

A beautifully illustrated celebration of the brave campaigners who fought for women's right to vote. Discover that it was never illegal for women to vote in Ecuador, or how 40,000 Russian women marched through St Petersburg demanding their rights. Find out how one Canadian woman changed opinions with a play, and Kuwaiti women protested via text message. And learn that women climbed mountains, walked a lion through the streets of Paris, and starved themselves, all in the name of having a voice. Tracing its history from New Zealand at the end of the 19th century, follow this empowering movement as it spread from Oceania to Europe and the Americas, then Africa and Asia up to the present day. Meet the women who rioted, rallied and refused to give up. Stunningly illustrated by Eve Lloyd Knight, this book celebrates the women who refused to behave, rebelling against convention to give women everywhere a voice.If you loved Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls, Fantastically Great Women Who Changed the World or Women in Science then you'll love this!

Orchard Books

Star Science

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical series where best friends become Secret Princesses! This book is a special long length for even more magical fun. Best friends Charlotte and Mia can't bear it when Charlotte's family moves far away. But when they become trainee Secret Princesses they begin an amazing adventure together - and they can see each other whenever they like!Once in a blue moon, a tiara shaped constellation forms high in the sky above Wishing Star Palace. The four girls that make a wish on these special stars get their wishes granted by the Secret Princesses ... but Princess Poison is determined that this year the wishes won't come true ...Have you read all four books in series four: The Moonstone Collection?

Franklin Watts

Frankenstein

Mary Shelley
Authors:
Mary Shelley

Frankenstein is the terrifying story of a scientist who uses his powers to bring a dead body back to life and thus creates a monster. Little can the scientist imagine the consequences of his actions, as he and his creation quickly become drawn into a deadly game of cat and mouse, which only one of them can win...Adapted by Mick Gowar from the original novel by Mary Shelley.A series of adaptations of well-known stories, designed to introduce young readers to the classics. Divided into short chapters and illustrated with modern black and white artwork, each title will offer the reader an accessible and exciting read.

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Encyclopedia Special Edition

Gotta catch 'em all! The ultimate guide to the Pokémon animated series - featuring exclusive bonus content!This fantastic Official Encyclopedia Special Edition contains:- Fascinating facts and figures about Pokémon and all the different regions- The definitive reference for key characters, battles and places- Ash's story, his friends ... and enemies!- Pikachu figurine- Exclusive RACE TO PIKACHU board game

Hodder Children's Books

The Girl with the Lost Smile

Miranda Hart
Authors:
Miranda Hart

The first children's book from award-winning, bestselling author and comedian Miranda Hart. Packed with humour and happiness, this is a story guaranteed to make you laugh and cry! An outstanding hardback edition, with cover and inside illustrations by Sainsbury's Book of the Year winner, Kate Hindley. Chloe Long has lost her smile. She's looked everywhere for it. (Under her pillow. Under her bed. Under her nose. Obviously.)She's tried everything to bring it back. (Her favourite cake. Her favourite gran. Her favourite joke. Obviously.) But nothing seems to be working! Until one night, something utterly magical happens - and Chloe finds herself on an adventure that is out of this world ... THE GIRL WITH THE LOST SMILE takes you on an action-packed, magical journey that celebrates the power of the imagination, the wonder of true friendship and is guaranteed to make you smile. 'Is Miranda Hart a National Treasure yet? If not, it can only be a year or two before she joins Stephen Fry and Alan Bennett in the trophy cabinet of the country's affections ... That personality and voice belong to a uniquely cherished comedian ... there's nobody like Miranda.' Daily Mail

Hodder Children's Books

The Rainmaker Danced

John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura
Contributors:
John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura
Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Ultimate Creative Colouring

Gotta colour 'em all! Hundreds of Pokémon for you to catch and colour in this beautiful colouring book.GET CREATIVE AND DIVE INTO THE WORLD OF POKÉMON!This fantastic book contains 30 brand-new Pokémon landscapes and patterns for you to colour in. The ultimate gift for any Pokémon fan!

Franklin Watts

This Little Pebble

Anna Claybourne, Sally Garland
Contributors:
Anna Claybourne, Sally Garland

This Little Pebble begins with a child finding a small, forgotten pebble in his pocket. It uses this simple premise as a jumping-off point to explore what rocks are, where they come from and how fundamental they are to life here on Earth. For readers aged six and up, This Little Pebble uses beautiful artwork to show the rich diversity of rocks all around us, with friendly, narrative text by award-winning children's writer Anna Claybourne making the book feel like a journey. It explores topics as fascinating and as wide-ranging as Earth's formation, the rock cycle, volcanoes and earthquakes, where precious stones come from and what fossils are. It also provides great support for for the topic of rocks in both the geography and science curriculum.