Jenny Colgan - The Stormy Day - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £5.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349131924
    • Publication date:11 Feb 2016
Books in this series

The Stormy Day

Book 2

By Jenny Colgan
Illustrated by Thomas Docherty

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The second children's book featuring Polly and her puffin Neil, from bestselling adult novelist Jenny Colgan. With gorgeous two-colour illustrations throughout, Polly is perfect for reading aloud.

Polly and Neil are back in the second gorgeous children's book from Sunday Times bestselling novelist Jenny Colgan. Perfect for reading aloud and including fun activities based on the story.

The boat masts jangled louder and louder. Above their heads, black clouds gathered. Polly shivered, and then the rain started to fall: plop, plop, plop.

Polly is waiting for something important to happen. But waiting is hard. It's even harder when it's raining and you can't go outside...

Can Polly find enough to do to keep busy ALL day? And what will happen when her puffin friend, Neil, decides to fly off into the storm?


Perfect for bedtime stories and early readers. From the author of The Little Beach Street Bakery.

Contains recipes, activities and rhymes in addition to the story.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349131931
  • Publication date: 11 Feb 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
These books are beautifully produced with nicely designed pages, including black and white and spot-colour illustrations, so they are not at all daunting for readers developing in confidence... I look forward to seeing more of Polly and the Puffin's adventures — June Wells, Reading Zone
A gentle seaside tale from the bestselling author with striking black-and-orange illustrations plus fun activities based on the story — Daily Express
A charming tale that is great for bedtime stories and early readers — Surrey Advertiser
We loved the first adventure with Polly and Neil, and we equally enjoyed The Stormy Day, these two characters are delightful ... perfect for holiday reading — hotbrandsandcoolplaces.com
With gorgeous two-colour illustrations throughout, Polly is perfect for reading aloud ... Jenny Colgan's new series is great to teach kids how to love animals unconditionally, by letting them free and respecting their animal nature — London Mums Magazine
Wayland

Experiments for Exploring Outer Space

Mark Thompson
Authors:
Mark Thompson

Find out how rockets can get you safely into space with these fun experiments. Discover how rockets work, how they lift off, how they can be made to fly in a straight line, their shape and what it would feel like to be inside a spacecraft floating around in weightlessness.Easy to follow, step-by-step instructions show you how to investigate everything you ever wanted to know about space.Uses readily available, cheap materials.This series covers key areas of the curriculum such as forces, rocks and soils, healthy diets, exercise, recycling and waste management, magnets, solar power, gravity, distance, maps and constellations.

Wayland

Experiments for Looking Into Space

Mark Thompson
Authors:
Mark Thompson

Find out how rockets can get you safely into space with these fun experiments. Discover how rockets work, how they lift off, how they can be made to fly in a straight line, their shape and what it would feel like to be inside a spacecraft floating around in weightlessness.Easy to follow, step-by-step instructions show you how to investigate everything you ever wanted to know about space.Uses readily available, cheap materials.This series covers key areas of the curriculum such as forces, rocks and soils, healthy diets, exercise, recycling and waste management, magnets, solar power, gravity, distance, maps and constellations.

Orchard Books

Aisha the Astronaut Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Orla the Inventor Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Dani the Detective Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Elsie the Engineer Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Wayland

Experiments for Rocketing into Space

Mark Thompson
Authors:
Mark Thompson
Wayland

Experiments for Surviving in Space

Mark Thompson
Authors:
Mark Thompson

Find out what its like to live in space with these fun experiments. There are lots of things to think about if we want to be able to survive in space. What will you eat? How will you cook? How will you grow food? Many of these things become a lot harder in space not just because of the lack of air but also because you will probably be weightless and floating around inside the spaceship. There are dangers in space too like rocks flying around that could hit the unexacting astronaut and radiation from the Sun. Have fun carrying out these twelve activities to help you explore what it might be like to live in space.Easy to follow, step-by-step instructions show you how to investigate everything you ever wanted to know about space.Uses readily available, cheap materials.This series covers key areas of the curriculum such as forces, rocks and soils, healthy diets, exercise, recycling and waste management, magnets, solar power, gravity, distance, maps and constellations.

Orchard Books

Doggy Drama

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder Children's Books

You Can't Cuddle a Crocodile

Diana Hendry, Edward Eaves
Contributors:
Diana Hendry, Edward Eaves
Orchard Books

Rainbow Magic: Sasha the Slime Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel, Kirsty and Sasha for some fun with slime!Sasha the Slime Fairy's special magic helps everyone have loads of fun making and playing with slime. From glitter slime to goo slime, all types of slime are Sasha's favourite! But when Jack Frost steals her three special pieces of slime, the magic starts to go awry. Can Rachel and Kirsty help her get them back before the slime adventure comes to a sticky end?

Wayland

Planet Earth

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Hodder Children's Books

The Invincible Tony Spears: Lost in Space

Neal Layton
Authors:
Neal Layton
Orchard Books

Princess Prom: Two magical adventures in one!

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

Secret Princesses is a gorgeous series about magical princesses and best friends. Princes Prom is a special bumper long book with two stories for even more magical fun! Will Charlotte and Mia finally get their princess wands? Best friends Shelley and Kat are desperate to put on the perfect Jingle Bells Ball. Their whole school is counting on them and they wish everything could go well. And if Charlotte and Mia grant their wishes, they'll finally become fully-fledged Secret Princesses! But mean Princess Poison hates Christmas, hates fun and most of all hates happiness. Can the girls defeat her one last time?Join Charlotte and Mia in this brilliant adventure full of princess sparkle and Christmas excitement!

Orchard Books

Cara the Coding Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Three stories in one! Join Rachel and Kirsty for a magical adventure with another fairy friend in this bestselling and much-loved series for girls aged 5 and up!Join Kirsty, Rachel and Cara for a brand-new fairy adventure!Best friends Rachel and Kirsty are very excited to be going to a coding convention! They can't wait to start building their own programmes and apps. But naughty Jack Frost has other plans - to steal the magic of coding for himself!Have you read any other Rainbow Magic books? Try Ruby the Red Fairy to find out how Kirsty and Rachel's adventures began.

Orchard Books

Kitten Rescue

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder Children's Books

The Golden Sands

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters

The seventh in a magical, exciting series by Olympian and World Book Day ambassador Jessica Ennis-Hill. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Magic and My Little Pony!What if you had a magic bracelet that meant you could see golden magic everywhere?Evie's grandma has sent her another parcel. Inside layers of tissue and colourful ribbons is a beautiful bracelet! And when Evie and her friends find themselves on the most exciting beach holiday of their lives, they'll need all their magical know-how for their most dangerous challenge yet ... Evie shares Jessica's determination and drive - an inspiration for kids everywhere.The full list of titles: 1. The Silver Unicorn2. The Enchanted Puppy3. The Sprites' Den4. The Unicorn's Foal5. The Clocktower Charm6. The Fire Bird7. The Golden Sands

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Happy Christmas

Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty
Contributors:
Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty

The fourth children's book featuring Polly and her puffin Neil, from bestselling adult novelist Jenny Colgan. With gorgeous two-colour illustrations throughout, Polly is perfect for reading aloud - especially at Christmas!Polly and her puffin friend Neil have wrapped presents, practised for the village nativity and written their lists for Santa. But Christmas is taking a very long time to arrive. And Polly isn't enjoying the wait.What's worse, Neil is busy helping to keep an egg warm, so he hasn't got much time to play. Will it EVER be Christmas? And will a tiny little puffling hatch in time for the big day?Perfect for bedtime stories and early readers. From the bestselling author of The Little Beach Street Bakery.Contains lots of fun festive recipes and activities in addition to the story.

Orchard Books

A Fairy Ballet

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Tiana the Toy Fairy: The Land of Sweets

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Another brand-new Rainbow Magic story featuring YouTube star Tiana from Toys AndMe!Join Kirsty and Rachel for another adventure with Tiana the Toy Fairy! When Jack Frost steals Tiana's magical candy key, the magical Land of Sweets is under threat. Can the three friends get it back before Fairyland turns sour?