Jenny Colgan - Polly and the Puffin - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349131917
    • Publication date:26 Feb 2015
Books in this series

Polly and the Puffin

Book 1

By Jenny Colgan
Illustrated by Thomas Docherty

  • Paperback
  • £5.99

Debut children's book from bestselling adult novelist, Jenny Colgan. With gorgeous two-colour illustrations throughout, Polly is perfect for reading aloud.

Meet Polly and her puffin Neil in the debut children's book from Sunday Times bestselling novelist, Jenny Colgan. Illustrated throughout and with recipes, activities and rhymes in addition to the irresistible story.

Polly heard a CRASH downstairs. Was it a monster? NO! Was it a spider alien? NO!
It was a little puffin with a broken wing...

When Polly discovers an injured puffin, she and her mummy look after him in their cottage by the sea.

Slowly, Neil's wing heals and Polly must prepare herself to say goodbye to her new friend. Will she ever see him again?

Perfect for bedtime stories and early readers. From the author of The Little Beach Street Bakery.

Contains recipes, activities and jokes in addition to the story.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349131900
  • Publication date: 26 Feb 2015
  • Page count: 96
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
A classic story about the touching relationship between a girl and her rescued puffin. — Guardian - The Best New Children's Books Summer 2015
Colgan's emotional intelligence and the charming illustrations by Thomas Docherty make this a great gift — newstatesman.com
A sweet tale of a puffin with a broken wing and the little girl who puts him to rights. — Charlotte Heathcote, Sunday Express
An absolute joy, beautifully written and charmingly illustrated, a delight for children and adults alike — hotbrandscoolplaces.com
Such a nice read — mummyfromtheheart.com
A great gift for kids of four and above — New Statesman
A gentle, heart-warming tale — The Herald, Glasgow
Beautiful storytelling...sure to be a popular series for young readers — Carousel
Evocative black and white illustrations feature splashes of red for emphasis while the text is made for reading aloud -- though young readers will manage much of it on their own — The Best New Children's Books 2015
Perfect for bedtime stories and young readers just tackling books on their own, this is a quite delightful story which also contains recipes, activities and jokes for added interest. Thomas Docherty's illustrations are found in abundance through the book, adding to the pleasure of reading. — Parents In Touch
Orion Children's Books

The Astonishing Colour of After

Emily X. R. Pan
Authors:
Emily X. R. Pan

Life, loss, love and art explode in a kaleidoscope of emotions as one girl must learn the truth about her family's past in order to bring peace to the present. For fans of Jennifer Niven, Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon.Leigh Chen Sanders is sixteen when her mother commits suicide, leaving only a scribbled note: 'I want you to remember'. Leigh doesn't know what it means, but when a red bird appears with a message, she finds herself travelling to Taiwan to meet her maternal grandparents for the first time. Leigh is far away from home and far away from Axel, her best friend, who she stupidly kissed on the night her mother died - leaving her with a swell of guilt that she wasn't home, and a heavy heart, thinking she may have destroyed the one good thing left in her life. Overwhelmed by grief and the burden of fulfilling her mother's last wish, Leigh retreats into her art and into her memories, where colours collide and the rules of reality are broken. The only thing Leigh is certain about is that she must find out the truth. She must remember.With lyrical prose and magical elements, Emily X.R. Pan's stunning debut novel alternates between past and present, romance and despair, as one girl attempts to find herself through family history, art, friendship, and love.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Happy Christmas

Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty
Contributors:
Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty
Hodder Children's Books

Dinosaur Dash!

Mo Farah, Kes Gray, Marta Kissi
Contributors:
Mo Farah, Kes Gray, Marta Kissi

From Olympic gold medal winner Mo Farah and bestselling author of Oi Frog!, Kes Gray, comes a fun fiction series which will get kids reading, and running too!Mo and his friends are jogging in the local park when Mo suggests they run backwards for fun. But what they hadn't bargained for was running back in TIME. There are DINOSAURS everywhere ... and they are hungry. Luckily Mo and his friends are wearing good trainers. It's a good job they love to run! Follow Mo on his madcap adventures as his running skills go from strength to strength.The perfect book to share and read aloud.The nation watched with bated breath as Mo Farah seized Olympic gold in the 10,000m and 5000m - he's been a national treasure ever since. In this adventurous series father of three, Mo Farah, combines two lifelong passions - literacy and exercise.Children's books by Mo Farah: Ready Steady Mo, Go Mo Go: Monster Mountain Chase!, Go Mo Go: Dinosaur Dash!, Go Mo Go: Seaside Sprint!

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The New Friend

Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty
Contributors:
Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty

The third children's book featuring Polly and her puffin Neil, from bestselling adult novelist Jenny Colgan. With gorgeous two-colour illustrations throughout, Polly is perfect for reading aloud.Polly and her puffin friend, Neil, have wonderful adventures by the sea. But now the time has come for Polly to go to the place she calls 'Big School'. It might be fun, it might be exciting, and it's definitely a little bit scary. Making new friends can be harder than it sounds . . . join Polly on her quest and find out if there might be a new feathered friend for Neil too!Ideal for bedtime stories and early readers. From the author of The Little Beach Street Bakery.Contains lots of fun recipes and activities in addition to the story.

Franklin Watts

Being Safe Online

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Franklin Watts

Pirate Hank's Plank

Penny Dolan, Nacho Gomez
Contributors:
Penny Dolan, Nacho Gomez
Franklin Watts

Rattlesnake's Relay Race

Laura North, Leo Antolini
Contributors:
Laura North, Leo Antolini

Rattlesnake is so determined to win the race, he wants to gobble up the other runners! Porcupine, Octopus and Parrot will have to be quick to avoid being eaten...The Froglets series is perfect for children who are reading on their own, with fun stories of no more than 200 words. Puzzles at the back of the book encourage story retelling and matching words to characters to build vocabulary.They are great for children age 5 or reading book band 5/green.

Franklin Watts

Don't Get in a Mess!

Sam Watkins, Louise Forshaw
Contributors:
Sam Watkins, Louise Forshaw
Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Sticker Book

Gotta catch 'em all! The ultimate sticker activity book for Pokémon fans everywhere.Enjoy hours of Pokémon fun in this jam-packed sticker scenes book. With over 130 stickers, this book is all you need to become a true Pokémon trainer. Eevee, Jigglypuff, Pikachu, Meowth, Charmander - they're all in here! Join thousands of Pokémon fans as you truly immerse yourself in the Pokémon universe. Gotta catch 'em all!

Franklin Watts

The Magic Pyjamas

Karen Wallace, Manola Caprini
Contributors:
Karen Wallace, Manola Caprini
Franklin Watts

Amazing Archie

Lynne Benton, Roger Simo
Contributors:
Lynne Benton, Roger Simo
Orchard Books

Belle the Birthday Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Franklin Watts

Lizzie Lizard's Long Jump

Enid Richemont
Authors:
Enid Richemont
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Stormy Day

Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty
Contributors:
Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty

Polly and Neil are back in the second gorgeous children's book from Sunday Times bestselling novelist Jenny Colgan. Perfect for reading aloud and including fun activities based on the story.The boat masts jangled louder and louder. Above their heads, black clouds gathered. Polly shivered, and then the rain started to fall: plop, plop, plop.Polly is waiting for something important to happen. But waiting is hard. It's even harder when it's raining and you can't go outside...Can Polly find enough to do to keep busy ALL day? And what will happen when her puffin friend, Neil, decides to fly off into the storm?Perfect for bedtime stories and early readers. From the author of The Little Beach Street Bakery.Contains recipes, activities and rhymes in addition to the story.

Franklin Watts

Martial Arts

James Nixon
Authors:
James Nixon

Always thought martial arts were cool? Do you want to learn more about them? First Sport: Martial Arts looks at the basic aims and moves of judo, karate and taekwando.First Sport is a simple, fun series that gives young readers a first look at popular sports and pastimes. Equipment, basic rules and keeping safe are all looked at, as well as learning more advanced skills and taking part in competitions. Pictures show the sport step-by-step with simple friendly text. Perfect for readers aged 7 and up.

Franklin Watts

Football

James Nixon
Authors:
James Nixon
Franklin Watts

Penguins

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch
Franklin Watts

Elephants

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch
Franklin Watts

Volcanoes

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch

Volcanic eruptions are one of Earth's amazing sights. Find out how and why these mountains explode!Froglets Learners offer fun facts in accessible text, perfect for building reading confidence.

Franklin Watts

Bears

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch

Find out all about bears and their cuddly cubs, from gentle pandas to fierce polar bears.Froglets Learners offer fun facts in accessible text, perfect for building reading confidence.